MSE 280 - Introduction to Materials Characterization
Material Science Article Indexes and Databases
Material Science and Engineering Article Databases - Best Bets
New developments and current research often appear first as conference papers and/or journals articles. You can find these in Article Indexes and Databases. You will also find product reviews, descriptions of methodology, or information on innovations in or applications of particular processes, systems and devices.
Each database has a different scope - it will cover different subjects and therefore will contain descriptions to articles in different journals.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowArticles, conference papers, and technical reports for all engineering disciplines; good source for current and past research.
Compendex, and INSPEC are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases: when on the main search screen, the databases are listed under the search box. Click the box to the left any database you do not wish to search.
INSPEC: Covers electrical engineering, physics, computers and control, manufacturing; Includes articles, conference papers and some books, dissertations and reports. - SciFinder This link opens in a new windowThe premier chemistry database, this index is especially useful if you are searching for specific substances. To access: Click on SciFinder Scholar, then enter your BSU username and password. First time users will need to register; once registered use the click "here" link to get to the login screen. The information screen also has links to SciFinder Mobile.
To limit to Reviews: On the Explore References search page, click the box to the left of "Review" in the Document Type(s) category (below the blue area that contains search text box). - SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in optics and photonics science and engineering, including imaging, sensors, biomedicine, manufacturing, and energy to nanotechnology, communications, entertainment, and electronics. By the International Society of Optics and Photonics
- American Energy Society This link opens in a new windowFirst Time users must create an account using your Boise State email address. Then Login click on "members" in the upper right corner. Under "Publications" find: articles, podcasts, energy sector analysis reports; Under "Services" find: ecosystem maps, datasets
General Science Databases
If you're not finding what you need in discipline related or specialized database, try one of these multidisciplinary science databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary index includes article information in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary, the primary focus is science, engineering and medicine. Publications prior to 1997 only provide Table of Contents information
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Index of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Science.govProvides access to a large range of science-related web pages and databases from United States government agencies (the full list is at: http://www.science.gov/searchdbs.html).
Find Other Databases to Search
From the Library's Main page (boisestate.edu/library):
Click the Articles and Databases Panel
From the Databases page you can Search for Databases or Browse your choices using the Database Alphabet bar.
Search for databases by one or more of the following:
- Typing words into the Database Title / Keyword box
- Selecting a Subject using the dropdown arrow
- Identify the Type of resource you need using the dropdown arrow.
Includes types such as journals, maps, data and statistics, newspapers, dissertations and theses, e-books, images, primary resources, and more
Click the Search button. Database options will appear below the search box
Click on the name of the database you want to launch it
Click the Clear Filters link if you want to clear your search and start over. This link will only appear after you click the Search button.
Browse Database Titles using the alphabet bar
Having trouble accessing a particular database? Use the Report a Problem button prominently located under the Search button on the Database Search page
Using Google's Advanced Search
Google Scholar Advanced Search can help you structure your search around the keywords you generated for your topic, and give you ideas of how to focus your search. To get to the Advanced Search feature:
1. Go to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) and click the menu bars on the top left
2. Choose Advanced Search
The structure of Google Scholar's Advanced Search template allows you to easily structure your search around your keywords, return articles authored by a particular person, published in a specific journal, or published between specified dates.
