Education

Distance Student Guide - This handy guide includes overviews of research basics and, most importantly, special services for students who do not live in the Treasure Valley area.

How-To Videos - Quick overviews of everything you need to access and use quality information, from navigating the library web page to citing your sources.

The information landscape is complex, and false and misleading information is rampant, so don't hesitate to contact me to help you navigate. We can set up a face-to-face or virtual meeting to get you going. Or you can always use the Chat feature on the library homepage, which is staffed by librarians Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.

You can limit the library's looooong Articles & Databases A-Z list to just those that may be most useful for educators Just enter "Education" in the Subject box and hit the Search button. You should end up with around 35 databases.

Education Database (Proquest Central) = Supports the study and application of education from early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and other relevant sources.

Education Research Complete = Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

ERIC (EBSCO) = An educational database that includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966

Google Scholar = the closest thing we have to a global search engine, searching within many of the library's databases, once you've directed Google Scholar to library subscriptions. Details on how to do so are here.

New users can create an account by: 

• Navigating to www.accessnyt.com
• Search for and select “Boise State University”
  • You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
• Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your school issued @edu email
• Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)

Once your subscription has been completed:

• The New York Times in Education: Offers continually updated teaching resources with newspapers selected from influential educators around the world, recommended NYTimes.com articles, and real life teaching applications in different subjects/co-curricular activities.