Films on Demand
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service that offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A & E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Alexander Street Press Critical Video Editions
Streaming (online) video databases from Alexander Street Press provide videos w/transcripts, clip-making tools, personal playlists, and links for embedding the videos. The specific databases include:
- Education in Video This link opens in a new windowFor training and developing teachers, the collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection includes training videos of counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, films, and newsreels covering United States history from the 1890s to the 1980s, including the complete series of United Newreel and Universal Newsreel.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for the study of human culture, behavior, and society around the world including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
- Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowOpera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowBrowse hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video.
Educational Video Sites
Watch Know Learn: Founded by educators, Watch Know Learn is a collection of hundreds of teacher uploaded videos for ages 3-18. These videos cover a broad spectrum of topics for use in elementary and secondary schools.
PBS Learning Media: PreK-13 PBS series such as "Curious George STEM" and "Kids in Motion" are available here for free streaming. Browse by grade, subject, standard, or video collection.
HippoCampus: Designed for Open Education Resources (OER), HippoCampus offers streaming video, simulations, worked exercizes, and test prep for subjects in middle school grades through college. Also offers many resources for instructors.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design: TEDTalks are an excellent resource. These talks come from leading experts in their fields discussing issues at the heart of today's debates. With over 500 TEDTalks available and more added every week, one can find poignant discussions on nearly any subject.