Skip to Main Content Albertsons Library Reservations

Social Work Resources

Librarian

Profile Photo
Elaine Watson
she/hers
Contact:
ewatson@boisestate.edu

Send me an email if you have any research questions. I am happy to assist you through email or meet with you in-person or via Zoom.

Get Help Now!

Starting Your Research

You can start your search in these databases:

  • APA PsycInfo 
    The premier psychology database for any research questions with psychosocial aspects.
  • Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco)
    Includes articles dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

If you are off-campus, you will be asked to authenticate with your Boise State username and password.

For information about searching in more than one EBSCO or ProQuest database at the same time, go to the Finding Peer Reviewed Articles link in the left navigation menu. 

Additional Databases

Multidisciplinary

  • Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
    Indexes articles from journals, magazines, newspapers & more. 
  • ProQuest Central
    Includes journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers & more, including considerable international content.
  • ScienceDirect
    Indexes journals in Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities (including Social Work); Life Sciences; and Physical Sciences and Engineering. 
  • Web of Science

Counseling

Criminal Justice

Education

Dissertations & Theses

Gender Studies

Gerontology

Nursing and Health

Psychology

Social Sciences

  • Social Science Database (ProQuest)
    Indexes articles in a range of social science disciplines, including social work. 
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide (Ebsco)- covers research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare

For other databases, see the Articles and Databases page or the Subject Guides. You can also contact your librarian for suggestions.

Searching in More than One Ebsco Databases at Once

1. You can search in several EBSCOhost databases at the same time by going to one of the databases linked above and then clicking the "Choose Databases" link near the search box (see image below). 

Screen capture of the words Choose Database circled above the search box in Social Work Abstracts

2. Select the check boxes for as many  other Ebsco  databases as you like, such as:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Alt HealthWatch
  • Education Research Complete
  • ERIC
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • MEDLINE
  • PsycARTICLES
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • PsycINFO
  • Social Work Abstracts

3. When you are finished selecting databases, select the "OK" button to save these databases. 

4. You can now type search terms in the search box.