Children's & Young Adult Literature
Albertsons Library Curriculum Resource Center (CRC)
3rd floor, Albertsons Library
The CRC is a collection of PreK-12 resources for you to use in your coursework and teaching.
- Books for children and young adults
- Lesson plans and curricula
- CDs, DVDs, and audiobooks
- PreK-12 Textbooks (Idaho adoption)
- Manipulatives, kits, and posters
Resources for Finding Children's and Young Adult Literature
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that covers children’s literature books and media from beginning readers to young adults. It includes over 1.2 million titles and supporting content such as 600K professional reviews, 1.25K award sources representing 110K book awards, reading measurement programs, author links, lesson plans, and teaching guides. Ideal for selecting trade books, creating thematic reading lists, annotated bibliographies, interpreting reviews, and developing classroom collections.
- NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Search NoveList Plus for reading recommendations based on your favorite authors and books, reading preferences, or genre. Includes plot summaries, read-a-like recommendations, professional reviews, and genre guides.
- Lexile Find a BookSearch for book recommendations based on grade level/reading ability and personal interest.
- Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young PeopleBibliography of books "that emphasize human relations, represent a diversity of groups and are sensitive to a broad range of cultural experiences, present an original theme or a fresh slant on a traditional topic, are easily readable and of high literary quality, and have a pleasing format and, when appropriate, illustrations that enrich the text."