Music Subject Guide

All genres and styles of music are covered here, ranging from the most commercially popular to the most obscure.

Online content includes audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips

Publications and other resources from the AMS, founded in 1934 to advance research in Music.

The Beethoven-Haus Bonn is one of the two most important archives of primary source documents concerning composer Ludwig van Beethoven and contains unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus music manuscripts, first editions, letters, and pictures.

Provides resources useful to conducting research on the music of Africa or the black diaspora.

Geared primarily towards classical music record collectors, this site offers an impressive collection of information on Western art music.

The digitized versions of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions with the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart.

Authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and works.

Kurt Sassmannshaus's violin master class website that contains tutorials.

Helpful websites and other resources from the American Musicological Society.

Library of Congress, American Memory Collections

Encyclopedia Britannica - includes web sites, periodical articles, related books – free version provides only a few paragraphs of information from the concise encyclopedia

Online reference sources

Teaching and learning resources

Finding data on the internet: a journalists’ guide

Archive of the internet – useful for tracking changes in web sites