Music Subject Guide

These instructions only apply to streaming audio files. Clips and playlists from the audio databases are not accessible in the video databases.

1. On the Library homepage, click on the Articles & Databases tile.
    
2. Find the Alexander Street Press databases you want by typing part of the database name in the Databases A-Z search box and clicking on the database name in the resulting list.
    
3. Click the Menu icon in the upper left.
    
4. In the navigation menu, click on Playlists.
   
    
5. On the left under Filter by, click on desired filter such as Shared with my institution. If you sign in first, there are more filters to choose from, including your own playlists.
    
6. To search within playlists, use the search box at the top.
    
7. To find you playlists, sign in to your account in the upper right of the screen and click on Show only my playlists under the title Playlists.

These instructions only apply to streaming video databases. Clips from the video databases are not accessible in the audio databases. Playlists are not supported in the video databases.

1. On the Library homepage, click on the Articles & Databases tile.
    
2. Find the Alexander Street Press databases you want by typing part of the database name in the Databases A-Z search box and clicking on the database name in the resulting list.
    
3. Find the video you to take clips from.
    
4. Sign in to your account in the upper right of the screen.
    
5. Click on Clips at the top of the page.
    
6. Click on Create a new clip.


7. At the bottom of the page, fill in:

• Clip title
• Clip description (optional)
• Start and finish time by dragging the red timeline slider
• Permissions (default is Only visible to you). To share the clip, it needs to visible publicly or institutionally.

8. Click Save changes.
    
9. Your clip will automatically appear in the Clips menu under Create a new clip.
    
10. To share, edit or delete your clip, click the three vertical dots to the right of the clip title. Share only displays if you made if visible beyond yourself.

These instructions only apply to streaming audio files. Clips and playlists from the audio databases are not accessible in the video databases.

1. On the Library homepage, click on the Articles & Databases tile.
2. Find the Alexander Street Press databases you want by typing part of the database name in the Databases A-Z search box and clicking on the database name in the resulting list.
3. Sign in to your account or create an account by clicking on Person Icon in the upper right. You can sign in if you have an account. Or click Create an account near the top and fill in the information to create an account.
4. Search for items to add to your playlist by
   • Clicking on the search box in the upper right where you can enter keywords in the box on the left and limit what collection to search in the upper right and then refine your search on the left to audio format  OR 
   • Search within a collection by:
     • clicking on My Collections at the right of the navigation menu at the top
     • selecting the collection you want to search
     • entering keywords in the Search inside this collection box.
5. Once you find something you want to add to a playlist you can do so in a few ways:
   • from an item by clicking on it on the search results screen and then click Playlist located under the audio player
     
      
   • from a running list
     • create your running list by clicking on select item button (the plus sign) for an item, track, or clip
       
        
     • click on View list in the upper right
      
     • under Options, click Playlist
       
     • in the dialog box, you can select to add the items to an existing playlist or create a new playlist
       
6. To edit your playlist, go to the desired playlist and click Edit playlist to underneath the playlist title.
   
   From there you can delete items from the playlist or change the:
   • title of the playlist
   • description of the playlist
   • order of the items
   • visibility options
      
7. If you have edited your playlist, be sure to save the changes by clicking Save changes underneath the playlist title.
   

These online video tutorials from Alexander Street Press provide the basics on using their streaming music and video databases. They are listed at the bottom of the Alexander Street Press Home page.