linguistics, n. Pronunciation: Brit. /lɪŋˈɡwɪstɪks/, U.S. /lɪŋˈɡwɪstɪks/
Origin: Formed within English, by derivation. Etymons: linguistic adj., -ic suffix 2
Etymology: < linguistic adj.: see -ic suffix 2.
The scientific study of language and its structure. Also: this as a subject of educational study or examination. Cf. philology n. 3.
The exact focus of linguistics varies, but may involve any or all of phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and phonetics. Many specific branches and types of linguistics are treated elsewhere: for applied, computational, historical, structural linguistics, etc., see the first elements; for ethnolinguistics, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, etc., see the main entries.
"This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics."
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers."
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.International coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain from all major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
"The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide." This specific link looks at "Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education" but the entire network of over 3 million works from over 559 institutions is also searchable.