Japanese Studies
E-books
The Japanese sentence-final particles in talk-in-interaction by ISBN: 9789027256096The Japanese sentence-final particles, ne, yo and yone have proved notoriously difficult to explain and are especially challenging for second language users. This book investigates the role of the particles in talk-in-interaction with the aim of providing a comprehensive understanding that accounts for their pragmatic properties and sequential functions and that provides a sound basis for second language pedagogy.
These are electronic books and are available to be viewed on your desktop or mobile device. To download ebooks to your desktop or tablet, follow the directions found at http://library.boisestate.edu/eblinstruction.php
- Loanwords in Japanese byLoanwords in Japanese is the first monograph in a Western language to offer a systematic and coherent overview of the vast number of words borrowed into Japanese since the mid-16th century.
Japanese English visual bilingual dictionary by ISBN: 9780756675561The newest edition to the Visual Bilingual Dictionary series, this title will help the international visitor-whether for business or recreational-adsorb essential vocabulary in Japanese.- Language Life in Japan: Transformations and Prospects byAnalyses how linguistic diversity in Japan, and indeed recognition of this phenomenon, presents a wide range of sociolinguistic challenges and opportunities in fundamental institutions such as schools, in cultural patterns and in social behaviours and attitudes.
Dictionaries
The Oxford-Duden pictorial English-Japanese dictionary by Call Number: PL679 .P29 1983ISBN: 0471574635- Japanese/English English/Japanese glossary of scientific and technical terms byCall Number: Q123 .T844 1993
The new Nelson Japanese-English character dictionary = [Shinpan Neruson Kan-Ei jiten] by Call Number: ref PL679; .H33 1997ISBN: 0804820368- The Kanji dictionary byCall Number: PL679 .S68 1996
Kodansha's essential Kanji dictionary : a compact character dictionary for students and professionalsCall Number: ref PL679 .K567 2002ISBN: 9784770028914
Kodansha's furigana Japanese dictionary : Japanese-English, English-Japanese /Call Number: ref PL679; .Y67 1999ISBN: 9784770024800
Japanese Language Learning – Writing Basics
Easy hiragana: first steps to reading and writing basic Japanese by Call Number: PL528 .K36 1989ISBN: 9780844285184
Easy katakana: how to read and write English words used in Japanese by Call Number: PL551 .W45 1989ISBN: 9780844285191
Remembering the kana: a guide to reading and writing the Japanese syllabaries in 3 hours each by Call Number: PL528 .H45 2007ISBN: 9780824831646
Kanji & kana = [Kanji kana]: a handbook of the Japanese writing system by Call Number: ref PL679 .H28 1997ISBN: 9780804820776
Remembering the kanji. Vol. 1, A complete course on how not to forget the meaning and writing of Japanese characters by Call Number: PL547 .H4 2007ISBN: 9780824831653
Remembering the kanji. Vol. 2, A systematic guide to reading Japanese characters by Call Number: PL547 .H42 2008ISBN: 9780824831660
Remembering the kanji. Vol. 3, Writing and reading Japanese characters for upper-level proficiency by Call Number: PL547 .H43 2008ISBN: 9780824831677
