American Sign Language (ASL)



From the Oxford English Dictionary.

American Sign Language n. (also with lower-case initials in the second and third elements) a form of sign language developed in the early 19th cent. for the use of the deaf in the United States; abbreviated ASL; cf. Ameslan n.

Albertsons Library provides access to over 290 research databases and indexes via its "Articles, Databases A-Z" link on the library's homepage: https://www.boisestate.edu/library/

We have created several subject-specific lists of databases germane to your topic. The following databases cover the spectrum of American Sign Language research and scholarship: 

Pronunciator (also available to anyone in Idaho via lili.org)

• Provides both guided and self-directed instruction for over 100 languages (with ASL and ESL) and 60 home languages, along with Course Designer, which allows for the creation and deployment of custom courses by educators. Pronunciator uses a variety of tools (e.g., drills, quizzes, live online conversation classes, feature films, streaming music with lyrics, poetry, plays, culture notes, etc.) to provide 360-degree exposure to a language within a safe, structured learning environment.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

• Has all the ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) journals.

Education Research Complete

• Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

ERIC Database

• The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

• Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences
• Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics

MLA International Bibliography

• The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

Teacher Reference Center

Albertsons Library Catalog