Government Information

• Legislative Branch via Congress.gov
• Ben's Guide to Government

Public Laws, Bills, Congressional Hearings, Legislative Histories, CRS Reports

Congress.gov
Includes a "Find Your Senator" tool and other features

Public Laws and research via Congress.gov,
begins at the 6th (1799-1801) Congress to Present (full-text documents)

Public and Private Laws & research via GPO GOVINFO,
begins at 104th Congress, 1995/96- (full-text documents)

Congressional Research Service reports,

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) helps Congress by providing research and expert advice. Its staff supports lawmakers at every step of the lawmaking process, from early ideas and bill drafting to debates, hearings, and oversight of passed laws.

CRS examines complex issues from different angles and considers all sides. Its experts analyze current policies and explain the effects of possible changes.

Law Library of Congress Legal reports,

The Law Library of Congress produces reports on foreign, comparative, and international law in response to requests from Members of Congress, Congressional staff and committees, the federal courts, executive branch agencies, and others. Selected reports are provided for the public for reference purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. The information provided reflects research undertaken as of the date of writing, which has not updated unless specifically noted.

 

U.S. Statutes at Large

U.S. Statutes at Large via GPO GOVINFO
 

Debates of Congress

Debates of Congress covers several different resources for information about the votes and debates made on the floor of Congress including Annals of Congress (1789 to 1824), Register of Debates (1824 to 1837), Congressional Globe (1833 to 1873), and Congressional Record (1873 to present). A complete collection of all titles in bound editions up to 1980 can be found on Albertsons Library's 4th floor main stacks.

Congressional Record via Congress.gov,

begins with the 104th (1995) Congress to Present (full-text documents)
Congressional Record via GPO GOVINFO,

begins with the 140th (1994) Congress to Present (full-text documents)

Congressional Record (Bound Edition) via HeinOnline

begins with v.1 (43rd Congress, 1873) to v.163 (115th Congress, 2017-2018)

Congressional Globe, via UNT Digital Library

Congressional Globe, via HeinOnline,

begins with v.1 (23rd Congress, 1833) to v.46 (42nd Congress, 1873)

Register of Debates in Congress, via Congress.gov,

begins with v.1 (18th Congress, 1824) to v.13 (24th Congress, 1836)

Register of Debates in Congress, via UNT Digital Library,

The Register begins from the Eighteenth Congress, Second Session through the Twenty-Fifth Congress, First Session, covering the years 1824-1837.

Annals of Congress, via Congress.gov,

begins with v.1 (1st Congress, 1789) to v.42 (18th Congress, 1824)

Annals of Congress, via HeinOnline,

begins with v.1 (1st Congress, 1789) to v.42 (18th Congress, 1824)

Annals of Congress, via UNT Digital Library,

The Annals of Congress are a record of the United States Congress from the First Congress in 1789 through the First Session of the Eighteenth Congress in 1824. The Annals are a summary rather than a transcription, compiled after 1834 from newspaper accounts.

American State Papers & Congressional Serial Set

American State Papers, via HeinOnline,

The American State Papers, comprising a total of 38 physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817. The books are arranged into ten topical classes or series.

American State Papers, via Library of Congress,

Contents

• class 1. Foreign relations (6 v.) -- class 2. Indian affairs (2 v.) -- class 3. Finance (5 v.) -- class 4. Commerce and navigation (2 v.) -- class 5. Military affairs (7 v.) -- class 6. Naval affairs (4 v.) -- class 7. Post Office Department (1 v.) -- class 8. Public lands (8 v.) -- class 9. Claims (1 v.) -- class 10. Miscellaneous (2 v.).

Congressional Serial Set, via GPO GOVINFO  (not complete)

The Serial Set is comprised of the numbered Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports, bound by session of Congress. The contents of the Serial Set have varied throughout the publication’s history, and at times have included House and Senate Journals, and the reports of executive departments and agencies.

begins with Serial no.1, 15th Congress (1817-1819) to Serial no.13606, 98th Congress (1983-1984)

Congressional Serial Set, via HeinOnline,

The Serial Set in HeinOnline includes:

• Complete indexing of the more than 17,000 volumes of the Serial Set
• Complete coverage of the American State Papers
• Complete coverage of 100% of the Serial Set in HeinOnline’s image-based PDF format
• Complete coverage of Congressional reports and documents from the 115th-118th Congresses (2018-Present)

 

U.S. Code

United States Code via GPO GOVINFO,

The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926.

United States Code via Cornell Law School

• CQ Weekly - The CQ news team, the largest on Capitol Hill, has more than 100 reporters, editors and researchers and covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else.  Covers the period October 1, 1983 and July 31, 2019
• CQ Almanac - The CQ Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.  Covers the period 1945 (79th Congress) to 2018 (115th Congress)
• CQ Researcher - Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

• CQ Voting and Elections Collection - Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America.