Your Librarian
Memo Cordova
He/Him/His
Free videos on the Web
There are many great sites for educational and research videos. TED is a particularly good site: "The TED Talks channel features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world's leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes (or less)." There are over 900+ videos available for viewing and embedding from the TED website. The video below is from Julian Treasure on 5 ways to listen better:
Other sites that provide free videos and streaming media are:
- History Channel VideosA varied collection of videos from their TV programming.
- Internet Archives MoviesSearch the Internet Archive. They have more than just videos, and are a great source of videos and moving images.
- Khan AcademyWith a library of over 2,400 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 125 practice exercises, we're on a mission to help you learn whatever you want, whenever you want, at your own pace.
- National Archives (NARA)Clips from governmental agencies.
- PBS Nature VideosEpisodes from the TV show, Nature.
- Scout Video CollectionsScout is provided by Idaho Public Television for learners of all ages. It offers thousands of multimedia resources as part of the Commission’s Libraries Linking Idaho (LiLI) service. Scout Video Collections includes Scout, Classroom Edition and Scout, Idaho Collection.
- Teacher TubeA YouTube-like site geared for educators.
- Teachers' DomainDigital media for the classroom and professional development.
- TED.comInspirational talks by a wide variety of brilliant speakers. Their slogan: "Ideas worth spreading."
- WGBHPublic media powerhouse WGBH serves New England, the nation, and the world with educational content that informs, inspires, and entertains.
- YouTube EDUYouTube videos from educational institutions like Yale, Stanford, MIT and others.
Search YouTube
Google Video Search
To search for videos without copyright protection search for your video adding the words site:.gov
All government published content has no copyright and any video you find you can use safely.
Example: butterfly site:.gov
Example: obama site:.gov