Data sources (statistics): United States--General
Compilations of data from US government agencies and other sources are listed here. Titles have been selected for their provision of data over an extended period of time or for providing such tables within the publication.
Need more background?
These volumes provide useful background and context for the decennial censuses.
- Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000Print volume in Library: Doc Dept C3.2:M46/2
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusPrint volume in the Library: ref HA 37 .U55 E53 2000
World Almanac
- World Almanac and Book of FactsThen click on "W", then on "World Almanac..."
The almanac has facts and tables on a wide range of topics.
Print volumes in the Library: (ref) AY 67 .N5 W7 yr -- 1929, 33, 36, 40, 41, 43-45, 47-49, 53-62, 64-66, 68-current. Annual.
Previous title: World Almanac and Encyclopedia, 1912. AY 67 .N5 W7.
United States Census
These sources are compilations of data from the US Department of the Census and other US government agencies. Links are provided to online content, comparable content in print volumes are noted in the description or in the listing below the link.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: National Data BookCoverage: 1878-2012. One of the first places to look for statistics for the United States in social, political and economic categories. For even older statistics, refer to the Historical Statistics of the United States.
Print volumes in the Library: (ref) HA 202 yr -- 1939, 43, 1944/45,1946-49, 52-63,1965-2012. Annual. Most recent edition located at reference desk.
Note: see next entry for online coverage from 2013 on. - Statistical Abstract of the United States (online edition through ProQuest)If you're looking for statistics related to the United States from 2013 and later, look here.
Note: In 2012, the U.S. Census Bureau discontinued it's production of this source; in 2013, ProQuest began aggregating the statistical data in the Statistical Abstract of the United States. - American FactfinderDecennial census data (2010- ), American Community Survey (2010- ) and Economic Census data.
- Decennial Censuses (scanned volumes)Many volumes from the decennial Census of Population and Housing have been scanned by the US Census Bureau and are available online.
- Decennial Censuses (in Library)Print volumes in the Library (4th floor):
1870, Doc Dept I 10.2:
1880, Doc Dept I 11.5:
1890, Doc Dept I 12.5:
1900, Doc Dept I 13.5:
1910, Doc Dept C3.16: vol
1920, Doc Dept C 3.28/5: vol
1930, Doc Dept C 3.37/5:
1940, Doc Dept C 3.940-5: P81
1950, Doc Dept C 3.223/9:950…
1960, Doc Dept C 3.223/9:1960…
1970, Doc Dept C 3.223/9:970…
1980, Doc Dept C3.223/8:1980…
1990, Doc Dept C 3.223/7:1990…
2000, Doc Dept C 3.223/18:2000… - Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial times to 1970, Bicentennial edition,More recent edition in print in the Library: Historical Statistics of the United States : earliest times to the present. ref HA202 .H57 2006
The tables in this source usually contain several years of data. - Datapedia of the United States: American History in NumbersPrint volumes in the Library: ref HA 202 .D378 2007. Earlier editions (some with variant subtitles) at: HA 202 .K87
Compiled from data in the Historical Statistics of the United States (1790-1970) and the Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970-2007). - County and City Data BookPY 2007. Tables in this publication are derived from the United States censuses and arranged geographically.
Print volumes in the Library: (ref) HA202 A36 -- 1952, 56, 62, 67, 72, 77, 83, 88, 94, 2000, 2007. - County and City Extra: Annual metro, city, and county data bookCovers metropolitan areas, counties and states. Detailed census socio-economic data.
Print volumes in the Library: HA203 .C68 -- 1994, 98, 2001, 04, 05, 06 - State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: YearOnline coverage: 1997/98, 2006 and 2010
Print volumes in the Library: Doc Dept C 3.134/5: year-- 1979,1982,1986,1991,1997/1998, 2006, 2010. Most recent at the reference desk.
(ref) HA 202 .S84 year. 2006, 2010.
[2010 at: http://www.census.gov/compendia/databooks/pdf_version.html] - U.S. CensusThe home page to the U.S. Census Bureau that provides access to information on people and households, business and industry, geography and census news.
Your Librarian
Nancy Donahoo
Contact:
Manager / Serials, Continuing Resources & Government Documents
Acquisitions & Collections
Albertsons Library
Boise State University
1910 University Drive, MS1430
Boise, Idaho 83725-1430
Acquisitions & Collections
Albertsons Library
Boise State University
1910 University Drive, MS1430
Boise, Idaho 83725-1430
208.426.4038
Subjects: Government Information