Chemistry Article Indexes and Databases - Best Bets
New developments and current research often appear first as conference papers and/or journals articles. You can find these in Article Indexes and Databases. You will also find product reviews, descriptions of methodology, or information on innovations in or applications of particular processes, systems and devices.
Each database has a different scope - it will cover different subjects and therefore will contain descriptions to articles in different journals.
This multi-disciplinary index includes article information from approximately 8,500 journals in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
To limit to Reviews: On one of the lines of paired boxes, choose "Document Type" from the drop-down menu on the right. This brings up selections in the box to the left; select "Review".
Provides access to a large range of science-related web pages and databases from United States government agencies (the full list is at: http://www.science.gov/searchdbs.html).
Find Other Databases to Search
From the Library's Main page (boisestate.edu/library):
Step 1 - Click the Indexes and Databases Panel
Step 2 - Scroll down to the Databases A to Z List
Step 3 - Search a broad subject (e.g. Chemistry) or part of a database name
Step 4 - Database options will appear below the search box
Who Cited this Article?
Many databases will show you who cited a particular article. Depending on the database you search, these citations might be from articles, technical reports, dissertations, or other types of documents. Here are some options in broad general databases that might help.
Google Scholar: is a great place to search an article and see who cited it. Look for the "cited by" link
Why are the Number of Citations Different?
You may find that the numbers of articles that cited an original article are different in each database you search. Databases that have a "cited by" feature are retrieving the information from the content within their own database or a range of databases by that vendor, so their sources of information will differ.
Google Scholar will usually have more articles listed under their "cited by" because the database searches across the Internet
U.S. Government, Pharmaceutical, International Databases
U.S. government agency databases and websites; covers topics such as agriculture & food safety, biotechnology, electronics, engineering, transportation, astronomy and space science, ecology, genetics, earth and ocean sciences, energy and energy conservation, environmental quality. For a complete list of the resources searched go to the Science.gov "Selected Science Information" list.
Use Left Navigation "Clusters": to refine your search by Department, Topic, Scientific and Technical reports.
One of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. The NIST advances measurement science, the development and use of standards, and technology.
The NIST website includes
Searchable Publications covering topics such as Buildings & Construction, fire, metrology, information technology, manufacturing, physics, analytical chemistry, materials, polymers, biomaterials, chemistry, electromagnetics, cybersecurity, ceramics and bioscience
NIST Data Portal searches NIST datasets. Some of the most heavily used datasets by NIST include:
Atomic Spectroscopy Database
Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
Materials Genome Initiative
National Vulnerability Database
Physical Reference Data
Standard Reference Data
Collects, preserves, and disseminates science, technology, and engineering research information funded by DOE. Includes: Scholarly & scientific publications (DOE Pages), scientific research data (DOE Data Explorer), scientific videos featuring DOE funded research (DOE Science Cinema)
Drugs and Pharmaceuticals Databases - Best Bets
There are tons of resources out there on drugs. How do you know you've got good, reliable information? These sources can help:
A Rich resource for full text reports, books and publications, including:
Latest release of the Periodic Table of Elements
"Color Books": resource for chemical nomenclature, terminology, and symbols
Databases: Agrochemicals, Aqueous Solutions, C-NPU Nomenclature, Properties & Units in Laboratory Medicine, Gas Kinetic Database, k0-NAA database, Solubility Databases, interactive IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology ("the Gold Book"), IUPAC Standards Online
Top 10 Emerging Technologies
Recommendations & Technical Reports
Once on the Association website choose the What "We Do" tab to find the resources you need.
Using Google's Advanced Search
Google Scholar Advanced Search can help you structure your search around the keywords you generated for your topic, and give you ideas of how to focus your search. To get to the Advanced Search feature:
The structure of Google Scholar's Advanced Search template allows you to easily structure your search around your keywords, return articles authored by a particular person, published in a specific journal, or published between specified dates.