Article indexes and databases don't always provide easy access to the full-text of articles you need. if Albertsons Library has purchased content, you may be able to find it relatively easily.
Watch for buttons or links that say Full Text, PDF, or HTML. And most importantly, watch for the Find It button within your search results. The Find It button will link you to the full text of the article in other indexes or databases, within online journal subscriptions, or will tell you if the Library has the print journal (i.e. in paper).
Here's an example of the Find It button in the American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications database
Here's an example of the Find It button in the Compendex engineering database
CAUTION: In some databases, the Full Text button (like the one shown above in Compendex) may link to the publisher's version of a full text article, which may require you to pay for access. The Library's Find It button will always send you to resources that are free to you or will give you an option to borrow them from another library without charge.
When you click the Find It button, you will see options for how you might get access to the article, and the options can be confusing, so here are some hints:
You may see a "Full Text Online" button, that will take you a page where you can find the full text
You may see a note that the Library has the journal "from the print collection" with a link that will take you to to the catalog record where you can find the journal call number.
The call number is the address of the book or item in Albertsons Library.
Stop at the ASK Desk just inside the Library entrance if you need help figuring out where to find the call number in the Library
You may also see a link which says "Search CrossReffor a DOI link to the full text".
DOI means "digital object identifier" which is a persistent identifier or link used to uniquely identify an object
If you click this link, you will get a URL that will link you directly to the journal article that you can copy and use in your citation manager
And, If there isn't any full text available, and the Library doesn't have a print version, you will see a note that says "No electronic access is available for this item" with a "Request Through InterLibrary Loan" button
The citation to request the item is right at the top of the box labeled "Item Details"
When you click the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" link, you will go to an "Article Request" form that, when submitted, will ask the Library to retrieve the article for you from another library.
You may be prompted to log in using your Boise State email and password
You'll notice that the computer has already started to fill in the Article Request form for you. Before you hit the "Submit Request" button, verify that the information for the citation is correct! It doesn't always come out right