Historical Fiction
Articles on People
Are you looking for information on a well-known person who plays a large or small role in your story? The indexes in this box focus on publications about people. Please note: you might also find information about a person by using the indexes listed on the News/ Events tab on this guide. The indexes can also be accessed under the "Find...Articles & Databases" link on the Library home page.
Also check out the box: Books on People.
Biographical Indexes
These indexes focus on sources that include information about people. The biographical information might be within a reference book, or in a magazine.
- Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive biographical resource that indexes articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
Books on People
- WorldCat Discovery (Advanced Search)When searching WorldCat Discovery for books about a person, search using the person’s name as the subject. Using the Advanced Search, select "subject" from the drop-down menu, then type in the name of the person. However, if a book has information about a lot of people, the subject headings will not include the names of each individual but rather use a broader category.
Remember, you can use the Interlibrary Loan service to request those items that are not available at Boise State University Albertsons Library. - Google BooksSearch the contents of thousands of books that have been digitized through a cooperative agreement between Google and selected university libraries. Some content is available online, but not all.
- Subject Headings examples:Last Name, First Name [such as: Morrison, Harry W.]
Architects – Biography
Civil Engineers – United States – Biography
Musicians - Biography
People... names
People Names
Looking for ideas for naming your characters? Try these sources out.
- Census Surname DataFrom the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Dictionary of American family namesAvailable in print. 3 vols.
2nd floor of Library, CS 2485 .D53 2003. - Subject Heading examples:Names, Personal
Daily Life
- American Decades, 1900-1999Also available in print, ref E169.12 .A419 1994b
Besides news and events, look here for popular songs and entertainment during the decade (find this in the "Arts" chapter for your decade, in the Chronology section). See how to do this using the link below. - American Decades, 2000-2009Link to Gale Virtual Reference Library, American Decades, 2000-2009
- Life Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
A cover-to-cover collection of photojournalism magazine Life, from November 1936 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the presentAvailable in print.
1st floor of the Library, ref GT31 .G74 2004.
3rd floor of the Library, GT31 .G74 2004.
Is your story set in a place or time period not covered by the American Decades set? Then look for information in this six-volume set. - Subject Heading examples:Manners and customs—History—Encyclopedias
China—Social life and customs