Library Guides: French Studies: Start Here!

Your librarian

He/Him/His

Email Me

Contact:

ALBERTSONS LIBRARY
1865 W CESAR CHAVEZ LN
Room: 401A

208-426-1270

Albertsons Library provides access to over 230 research databases and indexes via its "Articles, Databases" link on the library's homepage: https://www.boisestate.edu/library/

We have created several subject-specific lists of databases germane to your topic. The following databases cover the spectrum of World Languages:

Pronunciator (also available via lili.org)

Provides both guided and self-directed instruction for over 100 foreign languages, and ESL for 51 non-English languages, along with Course Designer, which allows for the creation and deployment of custom courses by educators. Pronunciator uses a variety of tools (e.g., drills, quizzes, live online conversation classes, feature films, streaming music with lyrics, poetry, plays, culture notes, etc.) to provide 360-degree exposure to a language within a safe, structured learning environment.

Created at the Basque Studies Library at the University of Nevada, Reno.
Access to information about Basque topics written or produced after 1994.
Topics include culture and society, literature, language, women, feminism and gender studies, history, philosophy & religion, music, and the arts.

A comprehensive bibliographic resource covering the Mexican-American, Chicano, and the broader Latino experience.
Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological and educational literature.

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

Collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
Updated on a weekly basis and currently offers the full text for more than 450 publications from 18 countries.

Over 300,000 journal article citations and full text articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Coverage starts from 1970 to present.

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
International coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

Interdisciplinary databases:

65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections
300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually
Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, art history, drama, and film.

Full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines—the majority peer-reviewed—as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.

Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
Combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.

Search across multiple literary works including the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), and more.