German Resources

These are but a few of the many great resources available on the web. If you have favorite websites or suggestions for content by all means let me know!

German programs/Collections/Culture   

• Boise State University, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures.
  
  
• Eppelsheimer Köttelwesch
  The standard work for searching German literary academic Zeitschriften (coverage from 1985-2002)
  
  
• filmarchives online
  provides easy and free access to catalogue information of film archives from all over Europe. The focus of the database is on non-fiction material; i.e. documentary and educational films, newsreels, travelogue, advertising, scientific, industrial, experimental, sports films, as well as animation films. filmarchives online is the result of the MIDAS project (Moving Image Database for Access and Re-use of European Film Collections). 
  
  
• German National Library
  The German National Library is the central archival library and national bibliographic centre for the Federal Republic of Germany. Its task, unique in Germany, is to collect, permanently archive, comprehensively document and record bibliographically without gap all German and German-language publications from 1913 on, foreign publications about Germany, translations of German works, and the works of German-speaking emigrants published abroad between 1933 and 1945, and to make them available to the public.
  
  
• Library of Congress - Portals to the World: Germany
  Non-governmental organizations (NGOs), associations, organizations, and institutes either in or pertaining to Germany.
  
  

• Western European Studies Section: WESSWEB
  A site maintained by the Association of College and Research Libraries, providing links to French, German, and Iberian (Spanish and Portuguese) studies.
  
  

Dictionaries/Language resources  

• CAPL Project Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon at Washington & Jefferson College.
  
  
• Das Digitale Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache German-German dictionary.
  
  

•  

  Deutsch Englisch Übersetzung online 

  Over 640,000 entries and multilingual spell checker.
  
  
• Humbul Humanities Hub - German Hosted by the University of Oxford, England, this portal offers evaluated online
  sources including those in Modern Languages, Linguistics, and studies in French, German, and Spanish.
  
  

• ILoveLanguages - German

  More than 2,000 links have been reviewed by librarians at the Virtual Library;
  providing information about translating dictionaries, native literatures, language schools, and more. 
  

   

• Institut für Deutsche Sprache

  Information about the German language: grammatical structure, research in lexicology
  and lexicography, collection of sound recordings of spoken German, etc.
  
  

• LEO Deutsch-Englisch English-German dictionary.
  
  

• Linguist List

   

   

  The “world’s largest online linguistic resource” run by linguistic professors and graduate students. 
  
  

  Wörterbuch Deutsch-Englisch Access to approximately 400,000 items from over 90,000 English and 150,000 German words.