Welcome to the CS 498 page covering library resources that help you find information related to computer science. Besides the content on this page, which covers article databases, notice the tabs at the top of this page will take you to additional content. Links to key Library resources are listed in the box below this.
Periodical Articles and Conference Papers Article databases are specialized resources for locating journal articles. They allow you to search the published literature for articles by keywords, subjects, authors and other parameters. Some databases include other types of materials besides journal articles, such as papers from conference proceedings (meetings) and dissertations. There are many different article databases; each has a different scope and therefore will contain descriptions to articles in different journals.
New developments and current research are often first presented as conference papers and/or periodical articles. You may also find literature reviews which can be particularly helpful in finding past research on a specific topic.
Top three recommended databases:
ACM Digital LibraryA repository of materials published by ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, this database includes the full text of journal, magazine, transactions, and conference proceedings titles; ACM materials will display the ACM logo to the left of the citation.
Expand your search by clicking (on the results page) The ACM Guide to Computing Literature-- this expands your search to references in computing publications from over 3,000 publishers of journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, master’s theses, and technical reports.
ACM Guide to Computing LiteratureFirst, do a search in the ACM Digital Library.
Then, expand your search by clicking (on the results page) The ACM Guide to Computing Literature-- this will search for references in computing publications from over 3,000 publishers of journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, master’s theses, and technical reports. These additional resources will usually not be full text.
IEEE XploreThis repository contains full-text materials published by IEEE, the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, and IET, the Institution of Engineering and Technology. The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) includes full-text access to IEEE Society-sponsored transactions and conference proceedings, IEEE/Wiley books, IET proceedings journals, IET conference proceedings and IEEE Standards.
Additional article databases:
Compendex and INSPEC (1896-current)Both indexes are good sources for current and past research.
Inspec covers over 4000 serials on topics in electrical engineering, physics, computers and control, and manufacturing in periodical articles and conference papers.
Compendex covers periodical articles and conference papers for all engineering disciplines, from 1969-current. Over 5000 serials are included.
Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases, on the advanced search page, remove the check in the box to the left of the database you do not wish to search by clicking on the box. The check mark will be removed and that database will not be searched.
GEOBASE (1980-current) covers journal articles, conference papers, reports and books in geography, geology and ecology. Over 2000 journals are covered.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar helps researchers find scholarly information on the Internet. Google is working with several publishers to access their databases of publications, plus searching sites known to include scholarly literature. Results include journal articles, theses, books, preprints, technical reports, and other publications.
The results may lead to the full-text of a resource, or to an abstract of a resource. Availability of the full-text of some sources is dependent on the institution’s access to that publisher’s material. Under Scholar Preferences you can enable the Boise State University Albertsons Library "Find it" link. The search engine also extracts citations from works cited in the resources indexed, leading to references that are not available full-text online.
ScienceDirect (1997-current)Contains full-text articles from over 1700 journals published by Elsevier. Although the content is multi-disciplinary, the primary focus is science, engineering and medicine. Table of contents information is available for publication years before 1997.
Web of Science (1900-current)This multi-disciplinary index includes article information from approximately 8,500 journals in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
This classification system is used for subject terms in the ACM Digital Library. Article and paper searches using the CCS can be accomplished on the Advanced Search page. Indexing terms for each article are selected by the article authors. A link can be found on the ACM Digital Library home page to the current CCS.