CS 498
Journal Article Databases
Computer Science Journal Article databases
New developments and current research are often first presented as conference papers or journal articles. Find these publications in article databases. Search by keywords, subjects, authors and other parameters. Literature Reviews found in journals can be particularly helpful in finding past research on a specific topic.
Database Best Bets
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe Association for Computing Machinery Digital (ACM) Library includes journals, newsletters, magazines, multimedia titles, and conference proceedings covering computing and information technology
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses covering electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines.
- Guide to Computing Literature (by ACM)The Guide to Computing Literature expands your search to references in computing publications from over 3,000 publishers of journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, master’s theses, and technical reports. These additional resources will usually not be full text.
Science and Engineering Databases
Can't find what you want in the three "Best Bet" databases? Try one of these:
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCovers scientific and technical engineering research in all engineering disciplines; includes journals and conference proceedings.To search only Compendex, deselect Inspec and GEOBASE under the database tab.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide-Google Scholar page to learn more about adding Find it at Boise State! library links to your Google Scholar search.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect publications cover a wide range of subjects in engineering, physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Note: Boise State does not subscribe to all content.
Albertsons Library currently has a Read and Publish agreement in three journals with Company of Biologists. Review the Read and Publish section of the Author Rights and Open Access LibGuide to learn how you can publish your research with this agreement.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Search across all author and author affiliations, track citation activity with Citation Alerts, and see citation activity and trends with Citation Report.
ACM's Computing Classification System (CCS)
Need help figuring out the ACM's classification system so you can do searches that are more tightly focused? Try these resources
- Computing Classification System (CCS)This classification system is used for subject terms in the ACM Digital Library. Article and paper searches using the CCS can be accomplished on the Advanced Search page. Indexing terms for each article are selected by the article authors. A link can be found on the ACM Digital Library home page to the current CCS.
- Historical CSSPrevious and current CSS are available for review.
Find Other Databases to Search
Find Databases to Search
From the Library's Main page (boisestate.edu/library):
Click the Articles and Databases Panel
From the Databases page you can Search for Databases or Browse your choices using the Database Alphabet bar.
Search for databases by one or more of the following:
- Typing words into the Database Title / Keyword box
- Selecting a Subject using the dropdown arrow
- Identify the Type of resource you need using the dropdown arrow.
Includes types such as journals, maps, data and statistics, newspapers, dissertations and theses, e-books, images, primary resources, and more
Click the Search button. Database options will appear below the search box
Click on the name of the database you want to launch it
Click the Clear Filters link if you want to clear your search and start over. This link will only appear after you click the Search button.
Browse Database Titles using the alphabet bar
Having trouble accessing a particular database? Use the Report a Problem button prominently located under the Search button on the Database Search page
Find Reviews, Technical Reports, Conference Papers
What Are Reviews? How Do I Find Them?
Review Articles try to summarize the current state of research on a particular topic. Theoretically, the author(s) searches for everything relevant to the topic, and then sorts it all out into a coherent view of the “state of the art” as it stands at the time the article was written. Review Articles will teach you about::
- The Main researchers working in a field
- Major advances and discoveries
- Gaps in the research
- Current debates
-
Where research might go next
These articles are a great place to start as they contain the basic information and core articles on a given topic.
Find Review Articles:
Most article indexes and databases allow you to limit your search to include only review articles. This feature might be called "Review", "literature review", "State of the Art Review" or "Review Article". Set up your search like usual, then look for menu options that help you "Limit to", "Filter", or "Refine" your search to review articles, select it, and run your search.
Example:
If you open up PubMed, you can search for review articles on the drug Paxil by putting “Paxil” in the search bar, then clicking the "search" button. Look at the list of filters on the left-hand side of the page of search results. Under “Article Type” you’ll see a link labeled “Review”.
Annual Reviews of Scientific Literature
Annual Reviews - Annual Analysis of Scientific Literature is a database of publications that focus on reviews of specific topical areas in a range of disciplines. These Annual Reviews are indexed in article databases, but you can also search this source directly. Search by topic. No need to add the word "review" to your search as that is the focus on this set of resources
Find Comprehensive Reviews
Depending on depth your research will entail into a topic, you may want to search for book-length reviews. Go the the Library's website, Select Books, Videos and More (WorldCat Discovery), then search topics with the word Comprehensive. For example:
- Comprehensive and Biomaterials
- Comprehensive and Nuclear Materials
- Comprehensive and Superconductor
- Comprehensive and Nanomaterials
What are Technical Reports? How Do I Find Them?
Many engineering and science article databases include technical reports from professional associations. So for example, if you need a IEEE technical report, start with the IEEE Xplore database. The resources here cover Government sponsored or grant-funded research.
Typically, government sponsored or grant-funded research requires written reports of research findings. These technical reports often have a lot of detail including methodology, equipment used, and tables, charts and/or graphs of the results that may not be reported elsewhere. The sources here are good places to look for technical reports that originate out of federally funded research:
- Science.govU.S. government agency databases and websites; covers topics such as agriculture & food safety, biotechnology, electronics, engineering, transportation, astronomy and space science, ecology, genetics, earth and ocean sciences, energy and energy conservation, environmental quality. For a complete list of the resources searched go to the Science.gov "Selected Science Information" list.
Use Left Navigation "Clusters": to refine your search by Department, Topic, Scientific and Technical reports.
- NIST Standard Reference Data (SRD) (National Institute of Standards and Technology) *Incudes: Bioscience (mass spectrometry, cell imaging), Buildings and Construction (building and insulating materials, refrigerants), Chemistry, Materials (properties and characteristics of materials techniques to determine surface properties of solids), Mathematics and Statistics, Physics (atomic, molecular, optical and nuclear physics, fundamental constants)
- Transport Research International Documentation This link opens in a new windowAn integrated database of bibliographic information that combines records from the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database providing access to millions of records of transportation research worldwide. Some full-text available.
- WorldWideScience.orgSearch multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages; Find the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) in partnership with the International Council of Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI)
Historical Technical Reports
Looking for historical technical reports issued by the U.S. government? Try the following resources:
- National Technical Reports and Standards (NTIS) U.S. Library of CongressOnline resources to locate technical reports and standards. Dates covered by each source are noted. Full text may not be available, but once you have the citation for the report you need, see if it's in Albertsons Library, or request it via InterLibrary Loan
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library This link opens in a new window
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes, and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
Find Conference Papers
Conference proceedings and papers can be tricky. Sometimes the Find It button works well, other times not. Conferences can also be called symposiums, meetings, congresses or conventions. Use the following strategies to find Conference papers:
STRATEGY 1 - What professional association or society hosted the conference? If the Library has a database that covers that group's publications, search there. For example:
- Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers - Search IEEE Xplore
- American Chemical Society - Search ACS Publications
STRATEGY 2 - Do a Journals search (Library's main page). Search by the conference name
STRATEGY 3 - Search WorldCat Discovery. Tips for Searching:
- Search using the primary words from the conference name. For example to find the proceedings from the Symposium on VLSI Technology and Circuits, search: Symposium VLSI Circuits
If too many records appear, then do an
- Advanced Search with the primary words from the conference name as an author search. On the Advanced Search page, use the drop-down menu to select an author search
STRATEGY 4 - Request the proceedings/paper through Interlibrary Loan