Health Professions HLTHST/KINES 297

The following books are located in the reference section of the library and are useful for providing brief, introductory information on a given topic

Health Sciences Studies

• Bioethics, Health Care, and the Law: A Dictionary
  Bioethical considerations and legal decisions are designed to protect both individuals and society; this resource provides the vocabulary and defines the terms instrumental to the debate, including euthanasia, patient dumping, right to privacy, and Nuremberg Code, to name a few.
  R725.5 .H44 1999​
  
   
• Dictionary of American Medical Biography
  Biographical sketches of more than 1,000 persons (nurses, educators, hospital administrators, biochemists, and doctors) who have significantly influenced health care in the U.S.
  R153 .D53 1984
   
• Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
  Biographical sketches of American Nurses.
  RT34.D53 1988

• Encyclopedia of Bioethics
  This five volume set attempts to provide an overview of the basic concepts and principles of bioethics with historical and contemporary perspective.
  QH332 .E52 2004
   
• Exploring Health Care Careers
  This very readable book focuses on 100 health-related jobs, including education, salaries, outlook statistics, organizational contacts, where to find more information, plus interviews with those currently working in various specialties in the health field.
  R690.E97 2006
   
• Gray’s Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Medicine and Surgery
  This classic text offers illustrations which are not only descriptive, and applied, but pertain to the whole of human morphology and scientific endeavor.
  Online QM23.2.G73 2010eb
   
• Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method
  Provides information for searching online databases, including a procedure to review and organize health sciences’ literature with specifics on assigning topics in abstracting articles in order to create and use those assignations for tailored literature reviews.
  R118.6.G37 1999
   
• Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary
  Designed especially for the health sciences’ student, this resource provides definitions for over 25,000 health science terms, with 2,500 illustrations
  R121.D76 2002
   
• Miller-Keane Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health
  This dictionary, offering tabs for quick and easy reference, provides a current and authoritative guide to health care terms to increase understanding between health care providers in different disciplines.
  ref R121.M65 2005
   
• World of Health
  For health students and lay persons, this reference offers 1,400 concise entries arranged alphabetically including an up-to-date overview of the various medical science and health related disciplines; recent discoveries in health and medicine, biographies, historical events, and significant procedures and therapies are highlighted.
  R130.5.W67 2000

Environmental Health
 

• A Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science, and Policy
  For beginning students with little knowledge in the subject area, this source defines over 3,000 words used in environmental, ecological, and resource economics; and offers primers on environmental economics, international problems, and environmental systems, dynamics, and modeling.
  HC79.E5 G685 2001
   
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
  Written specifically for students, information in this reference is both technical and easy to understand; major discussions include wetlands, water, energy, environmental law, agriculture, the atmosphere, and others.
  ref GE10.M66
   
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
  With an issue-based approach, over 4,000 environmental and related terms are presented; entries run the spectrum from environmental ethics, the environmental agencies, and pest control to population trends, and water power and the environmental movement.
  QH540.4.A84 2001
   
• Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources
  This acclaimed text, essential for all civic, research, and university libraries, provides comprehensive and understandable information including discussions about new sources of water, and management protection of existing sources, and the science of surface water and groundwater flow.
  GB655.E53 1999
   
• Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety
  Written by 2,000 specialists from over 65 countries, this set is aimed at the specialist and non-specialist alike; for doctors and nurses, lawyers, safety professionals, and industrial hygienists, this reference offers critical essays about current health concerns, accidents and safety, chemicals and hazards, to name a few.
  RC963.A3 E53 1998
   
• Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
  With over a thousand essays geared to the general public covering a wide range of international public health concerns, this set includes such varied topics as vaccination policy, water fluoridation, population control, genetic diseases, and homelessness.
  Online RA423 .G35 2013eb
   
• Environmental Encyclopedia
  Two volume encyclopedia of environmental science, earth science and ecology.
  Online GE10 .E582 2011eb
   
• Lewis’ Dictionary of Occupational and Environmental Science, Health, and Technology
  A comprehensive source of terms relative to the occupational and environmental health disciplines, incorporating vocabulary from its diversified specialties from accident investigation and prevention and aviation and aerospace safety to SUPERFUND terminology and Workers’ Compensation.
  T55.L468 2000
   
• McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science 
  For novice environmental science students but technical enough for scientists, engineers, and advanced students, this reference features 11,000 entries including acronyms, abbreviations, pronunciations for all terms, and tables and charts related to every concept current to the environmental field and related sciences.
  GE10.M378 2003
   
• Sittig’s Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemical and Carcinogens
  Provides occupational and environmental health and safety information for 1,500 toxic and hazardous chemicals, including exposure limits, first aid, shipping and storage, spill clean up, permissible concentration in water, and other important markers.
  RA1215.S58 2002
   
• Standard Handbook of Environmental Science, Health, and Technology
  A comprehensive resource for the environmental discipline and technologies all in one book; topics include concepts and policies of preventing pollution, toxicology and risk, remedial technologies, risk assessment, audits, mathematical modeling, and more.
  GE123.S73 2000
   
• The Water Encyclopedia
  For both professionals and students, the subject matter of this resource is broadly defined and includes essays about hydrology, surface and ground water, water quality, water management, water resources’ agencies, legICFLation, environmental problems, and so on.
  Online TC403 .W38 2007eb

General

• A Dictionary of the History of Medicine
  For professionals, students, and laypersons interested in health care, this resource is a one stop reference for specific information on virtually any topic in the history of medicine.
  R121.S398 1999
   
• Encyclopedia of Women’s Health
  With more than 200 unbiased entries about abortion, depression, migraine, rape and sexual assault, and women in prison, to name a few; the source identifies the social, political, and economic issues that typically affect women’s very unique health concerns.
  RA778 .E5825 2004b
   
• American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
  More than a thousand pages of medical information. This layperson’s guide to health is offered by the guiding authority of medicine in the U.S.
  RC81.A543 2004

Health Information Management

• Code of Medical Ethics
  Current opinions with annotations: including the principles of medical ethics, fundamental elements of the patient-physician relationship and rules of the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs.
  ref R725.3.A44 2010/2011
   
• Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
  Published by the American Health Information Management Association, and used by health information managers, faculty and students in health information management programs, and by other health care professionals, this compilation offers consistent definitions for those managing health care facilities and compiling health care statistics.
  R123.J24 2005
   
• Medical Terminology for Health Professions
  This user-friendly book emphasizes the mastery of medical and related word parts and their usage; clear, concise explanations with easy-to-understand language and countless illustrations and photos, plus pronunciation keys are provided.
  R123.E47 2015

Pre-professional Programs

• American Medical Association Manual of Style
  A guide for authors and editors of JAMA and AMA journal articles but also for the readers of such articles in order to understand the standards, conventions, and the language of medicine of which all professionals are expected to be fluent.
  ref R119.A533 2007
   
• Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT)
  A single source reference for medical practitioners and health students, this book offers citations to current medical advances, an annual update of HIV infection, disease prevention, emerging infectious diseases, and detailed information about primary care topics in all specialties.
  ref RC71.A14
   
• IInternational Classification of Diseases: ICD-10-CM
  Based on the World Health Organization's ninth revision, the ICD is the official system of assigned codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with medical and hospital utilization in the United States.
  Online HE22.41/2:     https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/icd/index.htm
   
• Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
  Standard source for the diagnosis and treatment of all human diseases and disorders.
  Online RC55.M4
   
• Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
  This four volume resource contains more than 750 articles including therapies, diseases and conditions, and herbs and remedies and provides more comprehensive information than standard family medical guides.
  Online R733.G34 2014e
   
• Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
  More approachable than highly technical professional materials, this complete reference offers full articles about disorders and conditions, tests and procedures, and treatments and therapies; biographies and common drugs are also discussed.
  Online RC41.G35 2011eb