Health Professions HLTHST/KINES 297
Top Databases for Health Sciences:
Look for the Find It button to link out to possible full-text access to the articles you find.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Database for nursing and allied health research covering over 50 nursing specialties and providing access to more than 1,700 active full-text journals. Features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search millions of citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books with PubMed. Full text links may be present for some materials when available from PubMed Central or the publisher's website.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that provide high-quality evidence-based healthcare information to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect publications cover a wide range of subjects in engineering, physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Note: Boise State does not subscribe to all content.
Related Library Health Sciences Databases
Select databases based on their content and intended audience. Consumer databases might not contain research articles but simple authoritative information which may also meet your needs. Ebooks are also available from some of the resources listed below.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide-Google Scholar page to learn more about adding Find it at Boise State! library links to your Google Scholar search.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Contains more than 25 medical sources.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, as well as searchable full-text for current health pamphlets. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes aging, women's health, and children's health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides nearly 550 scholarly journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library and part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), offering online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.
Search for Library Materials
Occupation Info
- Occupational Outlook HandbookProvides info on: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, working conditions, etc.