The two boxes in the center highlight sources of legislative and regulatory information
For the United States
Federal Register and the
Federal Code of Regulations
Idaho Administrative Code and the
Idaho Administrative Bulletin
Historical U.S. Legal Materials
Find historical content to US Federal documents through links on the Guide to Law Online from the Law Library of Congress: US Federal Law (US Code and Statutes at Large) and US Executive (CFR, Federal Register)
For information on US laws and regulations, there are two online sources that provide full-text coverage of statutory law and regulations. Below are those two indexes, with information about the sources available and the time coverage.
Full text of Congressional and Executive publications including Congressional Bills, Prints, Hearings, Documents, Congressional Record-Daily (1994-present), Congressional Record-Bound (1872-2001, 2005-2008), United States Statutes at Large (including Public Laws) (1951-2011), United States Code (103rd Congress-present), Federal Register (1970-present), Code of Federal Regulations (1996-present), and Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-present). It is possible to search multiple databases.
Descriptions: United States Code is the codification of “general and permanent laws” currently in force (ie, not private laws or appropriations). With its subject (called “Title”) arrangement, the Code brings together initial laws and subsequent amendments. It is reissued every six years, with annual supplements in the intervening years. Citations to the United States Code are in the form of title number U.S.C. section number.subsection number (example 40 U.S.C. 210.1). Includes subject and popular name indexes.
Federal Register is a daily publication containing new and proposed federal agency rules and regulations. It should be used in conjunction with the Code of Federal Regulations to determine how a law is enforced.
Code of Federal Regulations is the codification of the general and permanent federal agency rules and regulations. Revised annually, the CFR is updated by the Federal Register. Consult the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) (issued monthly) or the Cumulative List of Parts Affected (part of the Federal Register) to determine if your regulation has been updated.
For information on Idaho laws and regulations, see the sources listed below.
The Administrative Code records the rules set by each agency for implementing the laws in the Idaho Code. At the beginning of each section, the citation from the Idaho Code that provides legal authority is given.
“The Bulletin is a compilation of all administrative rulemaking documents in Idaho, executive orders of the Governor, and other documents required by state law to be published in the Bulletin. It is issued monthly by the Department of Administration's Office of Administrative Rules.” --Administrative Bulletin web page