Articles in newspapers and periodicals may provide useful background regarding an event or an issue.
Newspaper Source Plus, (date varies) This database provides full-text coverage for 35 national and international newspapers and selected full-text coverage for 375 regional newspapers. Television and radio transcripts are also included. Use this index for articles in newspapers like the New York Times and the Washington Post.
ProQuest Newsstand, (date varies) A collection of national and regional newspapers, with full-text including: New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (with exceptions), and Wall Street Journal.
Idaho Statesman, 1999-current Provides coverage of the Idaho Statesman newspaper, covering Idaho news and emphasizing southwest Idaho. Note: dates July 23, 2000 through October 18, 2000 are excluded. ProQuest Newsstand (above) does include indexing of the Idaho Statesman from July 1995-October 2001 (with some missing issues).
Magazines and other news sources
Academic Search Premier, 1975 (selectively)-current. Indexes a variety of subjects from over 8,000 magazines and journals, with full text available for over 4,500 journals. A significant number of the journals are peer-reviewed. Indexing for 100 core journals goes back to 1975, or whenever the first issue was published. Academic topics in all disciplines are covered, as are popular topics.
LexisNexis Academic, date varies Full-text content from over 6,000 news, business, legal, and other sources.
PAIS International, 1972-present. Indexes selected books, government documents and journal articles in public affairs. Try this index if you are looking for analysis or political perspectives of legislation.