Library Guides: Criminal Justice: Law

How Do I Find Legal Materials in Print?

Most legal materials in the Library have call numbers that begin with the letter K and to a lesser extent JX (International law) and can be found at those call number locations in the general collection (3^rd floor) and the Reference Collection (1^st floor). Call numbers of legal materials related specifically to Idaho begin with the letters KFI (e.g., The Boise City Code, The Idaho Code )

The most comprehensive collection of legal materials in Boise is at the Idaho State Law Library (208)334-3316.

Legal Research

Google Scholar
Find case law with Google Scholar. Includes: state appellate and supreme courts from 1950; federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts from 1923; and the U.S. Supreme Court from 1791
HeinOnline Academic
Extensive collection of legal and government documents which include case law as well as law journals.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Offers a comprehensive collection of national law resources as well as a wide-ranging selection of federal law and jurisdictional resources

State Resources:

Attorney General of ID Official Reports : Search the Office of the Attorney General’s online archive for past opinions, annual reports and other materials – some of which date back to the office’s creation
iCourt : Access to public information on the status of trial court cases in Idaho
National Congress of State Legislatures : The Issues & Research page is a good place to find recently passed laws.

Oxford Reference Books

Oxford Companion to American Law
Nearly 500 entries are included, written by over 300 expert contributors.
Oxford Dictionary of Law
Written in clear, jargon-free language, this dictionary is ideal for anyone without a legal qualification who comes into contact with the law. Over 4000 entries.
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
This new edition of the Companion has been fully updated and includes new entries on key cases and full treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, milita
Oxford Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
This dictionary includes all 400 entries on major Supreme Court cases through history