Construction Management
Find Construction Management Article Indexes and Databases
Construction Management Article Databases - Best Bets
New developments and current research are often first presented as conference papers and/or periodical articles. Start with these Databases:
- ASCE Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)ASCE published materials; Use the "Article Type" to limit to Proceeding Paper, technical paper, Case Study, etc. For Reviews, Limit to "State of the Art Review" or "Review Article"
- Applied Science and Technology Source - Engineering Information and Product ReviewsBest source for finding product reviews and news related (engineering) information
- Engineering Village (Compendex and INSPEC)Articles, conference papers, and technical reports for all engineering disciplines; good source for current and past research.
Compendex, and INSPEC are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases: when on the main search screen, the databases are listed under the search box. Click the box to the left any database you do not wish to search.
INSPEC: Covers electrical engineering, physics, computers and control, manufacturing; Includes articles, conference papers and some books, dissertations and reports. - Construction Engineering Research Laboratories (CERL), Army Corps of EngineersConstruction for military installations; Citations to publications reporting on research conducted by CERL
General Science Databases
If you're not finding what you need in discipline related or specialized database, try one of these multidisciplinary science databases:
- Web of Science (WOS)Multi-disciplinary index includes article information in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
- Science DirectContains full-text articles from over 1700 journals published by Elsevier. Although the content is multi-disciplinary, the primary focus is science, engineering and medicine. Table of contents information is available for publication years before 1997.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionBusiness database; includes industry news, trends, and analysis, regional business publications, business and financial information; Under "Limit To" (left navigation) use "Source Type" to limit to trade journals, reports, scholarly articles; Limit to "peer reviewed" if needed
Find Other Databases to Search
From the Library's Main page (boisestate.edu/library):
Step 1 - Click the Indexes and Databases Panel
Step 2 - Scroll down to the Databases A to Z List
Step 3 - Search a broad subject (e.g. Chemistry) or part of a database name
Step 4 - Database options will appear below the search box
Who Cited this Article?
Many databases will show you who cited a particular article. Depending on the database you search, these citations might be from articles, technical reports, dissertations, or other types of documents. Here are some options in broad general databases that might help.
- Web of Science (WOS)Multi-disciplinary database; key feature is the "cited reference" search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar: is a great place to search an article and see who cited it. Look for the "cited by" link
Why are the Number of Citations Different?
You may find that the numbers of articles that cited an original article are different in each database you search. Databases that have a "cited by" feature are retrieving the information from the content within their own database or a range of databases by that vendor, so their sources of information will differ.
Google Scholar will usually have more articles listed under their "cited by" because the database searches across the Internet
Using Google's Advanced Search
Google Scholar Advanced Search can help you structure your search around the keywords you generated for your topic, and give you ideas of how to focus your search. To get to the Advanced Search feature:
1. Go to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) and click the menu bars on the top left
2. Choose Advanced Search
The structure of Google Scholar's Advanced Search template allows you to easily structure your search around your keywords, return articles authored by a particular person, published in a specific journal, or published between specified dates.
Key Journals in Construction Management Education
Recommended Journals in Construction Management Education
- International journal of construction education and research"Keeps construction educators and practitioners up-to-date with access to information, ideas, and materials for improving and updating their understanding of the construction industry and construction education." Peer Reviewed; Accessible via Taylor and Francis Online; ISSN: 1557-8771
- Construction history : journal of the Construction History GroupDetailed coverage of building construction. Peer Reviewed; Accessible via ProQuest Central; ISSN: 0267-7768
- International Journal for Service Learning in Engineering (IJSLE)"Focus is on projects, programs, research and pedagogy that involve service learning in engineering, humanitarian engineering, and social entrepreneurship. A primary purpose of the Journal is to foster inquiry into rigorous engineering design and research and direct those efforts toward solving problems of marginalized communities - along with entrepreneurial application if appropriate. The examination of cultural appropriateness is emphasized along with the application of appropriate technologies and entrepreneurial application of sustainable solutions." Open Access; ISSN 1555-9033
- Journal of engineering education (ASEE)Focuses on scholarly educational research in engineering education. American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE); Peer Reviewed; Available via Education Research Complete; ISSN: 1069-4730