Art, Design & Visual Studies

• Getty - Search the Museum Collection  

  • Browse Free (Open Content) Images (150,000+ artwork images)

• Guggenheim - Collection online 

• Hermitage - Collection online

• Louvre - Search the Collection

• National Gallery of Art - Search the Collection | Artists

• The Met - Collection | Search the Collection 

• MoMA - Collection | Artists | Art Terms

• Museum of International Folk Art - Online Collection | Geographic Categories

• Tate - Browse all Collection Artists | Discover Art in the Collection  

Museums with Open Access Images of Public Domain Work (scroll down to see the list) https://creativelawcenter.com/museums-open-access-images/

To find additional Open Access image collections, do a search in a browser for:
museums AND open access 
or search for:

<name of museum> AND open access

or

<name of museum> AND open image

Example: Louvre AND open image

Libraries

• New York Public Library 

  • Digital Collections

  • Search Public Domain Collections (illustrations, maps, photos, ephemera and more)

• Los Angeles Public Library 

  •  TESSA (Digital Collections of the LAPL)

Albertsons Library at Boise State University

• Subject Guide for Art, Design & Visual Studies - https://guides.boisestate.edu/art  (for art databases)
• Streaming Video and Music Databases

  • Includes educational videos in Alexander Street Press and Films on Demand, BBC Shakespeare Plays, Dance in Video, Contemporary World Music, and more.

• Journals Search - Allows you to search for recent issues of periodicals.
  Note: Search for the title of the publication not the title of the article.
   
• Life and Time Magazine
  • Life Magazine Archive (11/23/1936 to 05/31/2000) - PDFs
  • Time Magazine Archive (03/03/1923 to 12/26/2000) - PDFs
    Use the “Search within this publication” link. 
    Example: JN "Life" AND idaho
    Example: JN "TIME Magazine" AND idaho
    If you want to narrow to a date range, select “Advanced Search” below the search box.

A Selection of Architecture, Interior Decorating & Design Magazines/Sites (and Graphic Design too)

Magalleria - UK Distributor of Magazines
→ Go to Browse magazines by category
→ Then go to your favorite browser and search for the title of a magazine
 

Public Domain

• Images in the public domain can be freely used with no restrictions.

• Web browser search: public domain images

Movie Stills

• MovieStillsDB

Government Information

• usa.gov - https://www.usa.gov/

Copyright and Fair Use 

• Copyright and Fair Use guide, Albertsons Library

  • Go to the Fair Use tab-->Fair Use Checklist

• Code of Best Practices in Fair Use in the Visual Arts, College Art Association, 2015 

• Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online Video, Center for Media & Social Impact, 2021

• Copyright, Permissions, and Fair Use in the Visual Art Communities: An Issues Report, Center for Media & Social Impact, 2015.

• Fair Use or Infringement?, The Graphic Artist Guild