This online source provides definitions for words, phrases and abbreviations relating to computers and the Internet. Words are verified in multiple sources and updated as necessary; new terms are frequently added. Webopedia is part of the internet.com network of Web sites owned and managed by Jupitermedia Corporation, originally created as the PCWebopedia by Philip Margolis.
Search for terms related to information technology or browse categories such as computing fundamentals, software, hardware, Internet, PCs, networking, and telecom.
Handbooks and more in the Library
Reference Books The following books are useful for providing brief, introductory information on a given topic. Dictionaries provide definitions of terms and phrases, encyclopedias summarize topical areas, handbooks are ready-reference sources of established knowledge, often specific to a discipline, and tables are compilations of data. Most of these books are located in the library (many in the reference collection) but there are some that are online (designated by "online" in the Call Number field).
From "Abstract Data Types" to "WiMAX Networks", this online encyclopedia provides introductory information on a variety of topics relevant to computer science and engineering. Each article is written by an expert, and additional references are included.
Click on the title to link to this online dictionary from Oxford Reference Online, then search or browse for a term of your choice. A print copy of the 5th edition is available in the Library on the 3rd floor at QA76.15 .D526 2004.
A one-volume encyclopedia that contains 623 articles by 450 contributors, the entries cover a wide range of topics including hardware, computer systems, information and data, software, mathematics of computing, theory of computation, methodologies, applications, and computing milieiux. Entries are lengthy and include bibliographical references for further reading. The appendices also include a timeline.
This version of the 4th edition is available within the ACM Digital Library-- look for the title, Encylopedia of Computer Science, and click.
The entries cover a wide range of topics including hardware, computer systems, information and data, software, mathematics of computing, theory of computation, methodologies, applications, and computing milieiux. Entries are lengthy and include bibliographical references for further reading. The appendices also include a timeline.
The introduction states that this two-volume encyclopedia covers “a broad spectrum of the most significant concepts, historical events, programming languages, devices, software, and people in computational history” (p vii). There are 800 entries, with the intended audience as students and non-experts.
More Reference Books
These encyclopedias cover a broad range of topics, including those of interest to computer science. If you are looking for introductory information on a topic, in addition to the titles in the box to the right that are specific to your discipline, try these: