Sociology
Streaming Media
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service that offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A & E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to more than 80,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
- Alexander Street Video Collections This link opens in a new window
Browse Alexander Street video collections available to Boise State affiliates: American History in Video; Counseling and Therapy in Video; Music and Dance Online; Education in Video; Film Scripts Online; Theatre Online; World History in Video; and more.
- Ambrose Video Collections This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collections including BBC Shakespeare Plays, Great Directors, A History of Playwrights, Hollywood's Greatest Directors, and Shakespeare: The Animated Tales.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, films, and newsreels covering United States history from the 1890s to the 1980s, including the complete series of United Newreel and Universal Newsreel.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for the study of human culture, behavior, and society around the world including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
- World History in Video This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 1,750 documentaries by filmmakers worldwide covering a vast range from ancient civilizations to contemporary events.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowA diverse collection of issue-based documentaries and independent films that present points of view of historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions worldwide.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new windowNew World Cinema includes independent features and shorts from more than sixty countries featuring a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.
- Scout Video Collections This link opens in a new window
Full length videos from Idaho Public Television in areas of adventure, culture, natural resources, Idaho, conversations with writers, and more.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Contains documents and videos of key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, and more.
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new windowProduced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
