Biology
Your Librarian
Preprint Collections
"In academic publishing, a preprint is a version of a scholarly or scientific paper that precedes formal peer review and publication in a peer-reviewed scholarly or scientific journal." (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preprint)
- bioRxiv ("the preprint server for Biology)
- arXiv q-bio (Quantitative Biology)
- PeerJ Preprints (Sections include: aquatic biology; biochemistry, biophysics, and molecular biology; biodiversity and conservation; bioinformatics and genomics; brain and cognition; ecology; environmental science; microbiology; paleontology and evolutionary science; plant biology; and zoological science)
- Preprints.org ("the multidisciplinary preprint platform")
- Wellcome Open Research (click the Gateways & Collections link at the top of the page)
- The Winnower (click the Topics link in the top left corner to see coverage)
Other Biology Titles in the Library Collections
- Dictionary of BiologyOnline
- Encyclopedia of BioethicsCall Number: ref QH 332 .E52 2004
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesCall Number: ref QH 302.5 .E53 2001-2007
- Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North AmericaCall Number: ref QH 102 .S36 1999
- Opportunities in Biological Science CareersCall Number: career QH 314 .W525 2004
- Origin Then and Now: An Interpretive Guide to the Origin of speciesCall Number: QH 365 .O8 R49 2010
- Our Living WorldOnline
- Using the Biological Literature: a Practical GuideCall Number: ref QH 303.6 .D38 2002
Websites
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryMakes "biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community." Includes books, journals, and images (see link below)
- Biodiversity Heritage Library Image Collection (Flickr)Over 300,000 freely available images to use, curated from the books in the Biodiversity Heritage Library collection.
- Darwin Digital Library of EvolutionStrives to make the full literature of evolution available online from the 17th century to the present.
- Encyclopedia of LifeComprehensive catalog of Earth's species.
- Exploring Life's OriginsUses molecular illustration/animation to describe origins of life research/theories.
- Fossilworks: Gateway to the Paleobiology DatabaseBrings together taxonomic and distributional information about the entire fossil record of plants and animals.
- World Wide Web Virtual Library, BiosciencesProvides links to publications, news, data standards, organizations, glossaries, lists of academic institutions, and other biology related topics.
- Evolution Resources from the National AcademiesAn introduction to the theory of evolution.
- USGS: Biological Resources Division (Ecosystems)Information related to various ecosystems and their preservation.