Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering
Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering Article Indexes and Databases
Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering Article Databases - Best Bets
New developments and current research often appear first as conference papers and/or journals articles. You can find these in Article Indexes and Databases. You will also find product reviews, descriptions of methodology, or information on innovations in or applications of particular processes, systems and devices.
Each database has a different scope - it will cover different subjects and therefore will contain descriptions to articles in different journals.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowArticles, conference papers, and technical reports for all engineering disciplines; Use "Document Type" (left navigation) to limit to journal or conference article, conference proceeding, preprint or book chapter; For Review articles, add "Review" to your search statement
Compendex, GEOBASE and INSPEC are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases: when on the main search screen, the databases are listed under the search box. Click the box to the left any database you do not wish to search.
GEOBASE: Articles, conference papers, reports and books in geography, geology and ecology
INSPEC: Covers electrical engineering, physics, computers and control, manufacturing; Includes articles, conference papers and some books, dissertations and reports. - SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in optics and photonics science and engineering, including imaging, sensors, biomedicine, manufacturing, and energy to nanotechnology, communications, entertainment, and electronics. By the International Society of Optics and Photonics
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
General Science Databases
If you're not finding what you need in discipline related or specialized database, try one of these multidisciplinary science databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary index includes article information in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary, the primary focus is science, engineering and medicine. Publications prior to 1997 only provide Table of Contents information
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Index of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Science.govProvides access to a large range of science-related web pages and databases from United States government agencies (the full list is at: http://www.science.gov/searchdbs.html).
Find Other Databases to Search
From the Library's Main page (boisestate.edu/library):
Click the Articles and Databases Panel
From the Databases page you can Search for Databases or Browse your choices using the Database Alphabet bar.
Search for databases by one or more of the following:
- Typing words into the Database Title / Keyword box
- Selecting a Subject using the dropdown arrow
- Identify the Type of resource you need using the dropdown arrow.
Includes types such as journals, maps, data and statistics, newspapers, dissertations and theses, e-books, images, primary resources, and more
Click the Search button. Database options will appear below the search box
Click on the name of the database you want to launch it
Click the Clear Filters link if you want to clear your search and start over. This link will only appear after you click the Search button.
Browse Database Titles using the alphabet bar
Having trouble accessing a particular database? Use the Report a Problem button prominently located under the Search button on the Database Search page
Biomedical, Renewable Energy, Product News Databases
Biomedical Article Databases - Best Bets
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, comprehensive database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences; includes optometry and dentistry. By the National Library of Medicine
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
Renewable Energy Article Databases - Best Bets
- E&E News This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental and Energy Newswire. Current, headline news on energy topics in categories such as Greenwire, Climatewire, and E&E Daily; includes special reports, topical issues, video content.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIn depth coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A research database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Agriculture & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowTopics such as pollution and its impact, conservation, environmental engineering, renewable energy, and waste management from scientific, consumer action and policy perspectives. Includes journal & magazine articles, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications
Product and Business News Article Databases - Best Bets
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowCovers applied sciences and computing disciplines, from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering with content derived from leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings. Best source for finding product reviews and news related (engineering) information
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness database; includes industry news, trends, and analysis, regional business publications, business and financial information; Under "Limit To" (left navigation) use "Source Type" to limit to trade journals, reports, scholarly articles; Limit to "peer reviewed" if needed
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowBusiness and industry topics, including project management, business practices, business and industry news news.
Who Cited this Article?
Many databases will show you who cited a particular article. Depending on the database you search, these citations might be from articles, technical reports, dissertations, or other types of documents. Here are some options in broad general databases that might help.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Search across all author and author affiliations, track citation activity with Citation Alerts, and see citation activity and trends with Citation Report.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide-Google Scholar page to learn more about adding Find it at Boise State! library links to your Google Scholar search.
Why are the Number of Citations Different?
You may find that the numbers of articles that cited an original article are different in each database you search. Databases that have a "cited by" feature are retrieving the information from the content within their own database or a range of databases by that vendor, so their sources of information will differ.
Google Scholar will usually have more articles listed under their "cited by" because the database searches across the Internet
Using Google's Advanced Search
Google Scholar Advanced Search can help you structure your search around the keywords you generated for your topic, and give you ideas of how to focus your search. To get to the Advanced Search feature:
1. Go to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) and click the menu bars on the top left
2. Choose Advanced Search
The structure of Google Scholar's Advanced Search template allows you to easily structure your search around your keywords, return articles authored by a particular person, published in a specific journal, or published between specified dates.
