Music Subject Guide

A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present covering every aspect of classical and popular music.

Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Covers subjects such as music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.

Browse scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. JSTOR now includes Artstor, collections of high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences disciplines, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. 

Music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects from the early 19th century to the present.

ERIC, sponsored by the institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, is a free to use database that provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, grey literature, conference proceedings, and more research materials in the field of education. 

Visit ERIC Videos, Infographics, and Webinars to learn ERIC basics, searching ERIC and more. 

Provides detailed bibliographic and provider information for more than 300,000 periodicals, from academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. 

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a unique and extensive online directory that provides access to diverse, high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Coverage includes all areas of arts, humanities, medicine, sciences, social sciences, and technology. 

Full-text scholarly journals and eBooks with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Subject coverage includes ethnic studies, art and architecture, creative writing, education, film, theater, and performing arts, history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more.

A leading multidisciplinary research database. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other valuable resources.

An aggregated database of periodical content bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Search scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Search across all author and author affiliations, track citation activity with Citation Alerts, and see citation activity and trends with Citation Report. 

Search scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide-Google Scholar page to learn more about adding Find it at Boise State! library links to your Google Scholar search. 

Index of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Offers a digital reproduction of full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851. It provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

A digital reproduction of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.

Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes publications such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, the BBC Monitoring series of publications, and more.

Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.

A full-text digital collection of the world's major news. Includes U.S. and international newspapers like USA Today, The Washington Post, Toronto Star, and The Times (U.K.), as well as television and radio news transcripts and real-time news resources such as ABC News, MSNBC, PBS, Associated Press, CNN Wire, and more.