Library Guides: CE Research Groups: Library Databases

Your Librarian

Tracy Bicknell-Holmes

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Albertsons Library
1865 W Cesar Chavez Lane

tracybicknell-holmes@boisestate.edu

208-426-4063

Navigation

Library links:

Albertsons Library Home Page
Books, eBooks, Media (Library catalog)
Article Databases
Click this link, then click the Articles & Databases tab.
Find Journal Titles
Get Help Now!

2018 Library Workshop

2018 Library Workshop for CE
more...less...
Google Slides; Workshop for CE Research Group on Oct. 5, 2018

Library Databases

For articles and conference papers, start with these library databases.

Compendex (1969-current)
Compendex covers periodical articles and conference papers for all engineering disciplines. This is a good source for current and past research, with over 5000 serials included.
more...less...
Compendex, GEOBASE and INSPEC are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases, on the advanced search page, remove the check in the box to the left of the database you do not wish to search by clicking on the box. The check mark will be removed and that database will not be searched.

GEOBASE (1980-current) covers journal articles, conference papers, reports and books in geography, geology and ecology. Over 2000 journals are covered.

INSPEC primarily covers periodical articles and conference papers (1898-current) but also includes some books, dissertations and reports. Over 4000 serials covering topics in electrical engineering, physics, computers and control are included.

Compendex has a print version, ENGINEERING INDEX, (1959-2000), located at TA1 .E5.
ASCE Research Library (1983-current)
A repository of materials published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, including the full-text articles of journal, magazine, and conference proceedings titles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar helps researchers find scholarly information on the Internet. Google is working with several publishers to access their databases of publications, plus searching sites known to include scholarly literature. Results include journal articles, theses, books, preprints, technical reports, and other publications.
more...less...
The results may lead to the full-text of a resource, or to an abstract of a resource. Availability of the full-text of some sources is dependent on the institution’s access to that publisher’s material. Under Scholar Preferences you can enable the Boise State University Albertsons Library "Find it" link. The search engine also extracts citations from works cited in the resources indexed, leading to references that are not available full-text online.

Finding Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations usually contain extensive literature reviews which place the topic of the dissertation into a historical context and/or give the state of current research in the area. These literature reviews are a rich source of articles and other published materials relating to the dissertation topic and related areas. These databases provide access to this resource type.

Dissertations and Theses Global
Provides coverage for 2.4 million dissertations from colleges and universities around the world, and some coverage of master’s theses. Full text is available for titles dated 1997 and after.
OATD - Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from thousands of colleges, universities, and research institutions.