Skip to Main Content Albertsons Library Reservations

PHYS 499 : Library Resources Guide

Resources & Tips for Physics Research for Seniors & Juniors

What is Endnote and Why Should I Use It?

What is EndNote and Why Should I Use It?

EndNote Online is citation management software that allows you to:

  • Easily cite your sources
  • Create a personal library references and citations by importing citation information from indexes, databases, the Library's Catalog, and websites
  • Organize your references and share them with other researchers
  • Insert citations from EndNote directly into your Microsoft Word documents (Cite While You Write) and easily create bibliographies
  • EndNote is compatible with thousands of citation styles if you register for EndNote through the Web of Science (WOS) database. Go to EndNote's Output Styles page for a complete list.

Once you have registered, set up EndNote Online, and become familiar with how it works, it can save you a lot of time and headache citing resources when you're writing, and creating a bibliography of sources or references in you papers.

There are several different free online citation managers. Each has features that differ and unique challenges in use, so if you don't like EndNote, try Zotero or Mendeley.

 

See how it works in the 7-minute video: EndNote Basics

 

NOTE Linux Operating Systems:  There are currently no versions of EndNote that work with the Linux OS. If you are using a devise that runs on Linux, you'll need to use another citation manager like Zotero or Mendeley.

Get Ready to Use EndNote

Register for EndNote Online

If you will be citing sources using a unique journal or professional association citation style, register for EndNote Online via the Web of Science (WOS) database.  That way you will have access to all of the available citation styles

 

Step 1 : Register for Web of Science (WOS) (Already registered? Skip to Step 2)

EndNote Online is produced by the same vendor that creates and maintains WOS. Registering for EndNote Online from within WOS gives you access to more citation styles than registering for an EndNote Web account directly from the EndNote webpage.

If you haven't already registered (created an account) for WOS, you'll need to do so. Registering allows you to save searches and create alerts in WOS, and sign up for EndNote Online.

1. Go to the Library's Main Page (http://boisestate.edu/library/) click the Articles & Databases panel

2. Scroll down to Articles and Databases A to Z, and search for Web of Science

3. Click the link for the Web of Science database

NOTE:  If off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your my.boisestate.edu username and password before you can get into WOS

4. Have an WOS account? Sign in.  If not Register to use WOS - upper right corner

Web of Science Register Icon circled

 

STEP 2 - Create an EndNote Online Account

1. Click the Products icon in the upper right corner of WOS

Web of Science Products menu circled

2. Select EndNote from the menu

Web of Science Products menu with EndNote circled

 

3. Click the Register Button

4. Follow the instructions to create your free EndNote account

Use any email address you like, it needn't be your Boise State email address

After creating an account in EndNote Online, download the Cite While You Write plug-in so you can access EndNote from within Microsoft Word to insert citations into your Word documents as you write.

To download the Cite While You Write plug-in following these steps:

  1. Go to http://my.endnote.com/ and sign into your account if you aren't already signed in
  2. Click on the Format 
  3. Click on Cite While You Write™ Plug-In.
  4. Click the Download Windows or Download Macintosh link as appropriate.
  5. Follow the prompts

Using "Cite While You Write"

Cite While You Write, instantly inserts citations, and formats references and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers.

Cite While You Write is:

  • An add-in for Microsoft Word
  • Available for Windows and MAC/IOS operating systems
  • Downloadable in EndNote under the Download tab

See how it works in the 7-minute video: EndNote Basics

You will first need to register for an Endnote account and login to access the Download tab. Once you install the Cite While You Write plug-in, it will appear when you open Microsoft Word.  

To Access Cite While You Write in Endnote Web:

  1. Log on to EndNote
  2. In your Word document, put your cursor where you want the the citation to be
  3. Click the Endnote tab on the toolbar. If the toolbar is not there, make sure you have first installed the  “Cite While You Write” add-on from EndNote.
  4. Type a word to search your EndNote Web references.
  5. Choose the desired citation(s) and click on the Insert button.

 

CiteWhileYouWrite

Getting Help - Tutorials and Resources

EndNote is a powerful citation tool, but it can be tricky to use.  Contact Your Librarian (I'm on the first page page of this guide! left navigation) or these resources might help:

Exporting Citations from various Databases

Exporting Citations from Web of Science (WOS)

Once you have completed a search and selected the citations you want to export:

Step 1 - Click on "Export" button above the search results list

Web of Science Export button

Step 2 - Select "EndNote Online"

Step 3 - In the dialog box, select the fields (part of a record) to be exported for each record

Web of Science Export Records Dialog box

Step 4 - Click "Export"

The citations will automatically appear in EndNote in the "Unfiled" folder

 

Importing Web of Science (WOS) Citations into EndNote

Importing WOS Citations into EndNote is easy, because EndNote is made by the producers of WOS.

Step 1 - To log into EndNote, stay in the WOS database, and click the Products Icon in the upper right:

Web of Science Products menu option

Step 2 - From the Products menu, Select EndNote

Find the Citations under "My References" in the "Unfiled" folder

Exporting Citations from SciFinder

Start from your SciFinder search results page

Step 1 - Select the records you want by clicking the check boxes next to each record or click the box at the top of your results list to select all of the records

Step 2 - Click the Download button in the top navigation bar toward the right side

Right side of SciFinder top navigation bar with download button circled

 

Step 3 - In the Download Reference Results box, use the drop down arrow to Change File Type to “Citation (.ris)"

Download Reference Results menu with Citation (.ris) style circled

In the upper right of this same menu, select whether you want to download "All Results" in your search just the "Selected Results" - i.e. the individual record boxes you checked - or a Range of records you designate

At the bottom of the menu decide what parts of each record you want to download with the citation, including: The search aka "task history", abstract, concepts, substances, analytical methods, formulations, and citations from the articles' references

Once all of your decisions are made, click the "Download" button.

 

Importing SciFinder Citations into EndNote

Step 1 - Login to EndNote

Step 2 - Click the "Collect" tab in the top navigation bar, then the "Import References" option

EndNote navigation bar with Collect and Import References options circled

Step 3 - In the Import References menu, choose the file you want to upload, then scroll through the Import Options and Select “RefMan RIS”

Import Options shown with Refman RIS circled

Step 4 - If you want the references grouped together under a particular topic, use the dropdown arrow next to "To:" to Select the Group or folder where you want the references to go. You can create a new group as well.

Import References with location drop down menu showing

Step 5 - When your ready, Click the Import button

When the importing of your records is complete, you will see a note in red that your "references were imported" into the group or file you designated.

Example of References were imported message

Step 6 - Go to the “My References” tab in the top navigation bar to find the references you imported. If you designed the reference to go into a particular group, you will need to look under MyGroups to find the folder or group you designated

Exporting Citations from Engineering Village (Compendex, Inspec, Geobase)

Once you have completed your search, and selected the documents you would like to save:

Step 1 - Click the Download icon just above the search results

Engineering Village download button

 

Step 2 - Select the location for the file, EndNote (RIS Ref manager) as the format format. The default file name will be Engineering Village. Change this if you like.

Step 3 - then click Download Records.

Engineering Village Download Records dialog box

 

Importing Engineering Village Citations into EndNote

Step 1 - Login to EndNote

Step 2 - Click the "Collect" tab in the top navigation bar, then the "Import References" option

EndNote navigation bar with Collect and Import References options circled

Step 3 - Under Import References menu, choose the file you want to upload, then scroll through the Import Options and Select “RefMan RIS”

Import Options shown with Refman RIS circled

 

Step 4 - If you want the references grouped together under a particular topic, use the dropdown arrow next to "To:" to Select the Group or folder where you want the references to go. You can create a new group as well.

Import References with location drop down menu showing

 

Step 5 - When your ready, Click the Import button

When the importing of your records is complete, you will see a note in red that your "references were imported" into the group or file you designated.

Example of References were imported message

 

Step 6 - Go to the “My References” tab in the top navigation bar to find the references you imported. If you designed the reference to go into a particular group, you will need to look under MyGroups to find the folder or group you designated

Exporting Website Citations

You can save references directly from your browser into EndNote through the Capture Reference bookmarklet.

You will need to install the Capture Reference tool to use this feature with EndNote

  1. From the EndNote "Downloads" tab
  2. Drag the Capture Reference tool to your Bookmarks bar (Favorites Bar, Bookmarks Toolbar)
  3. You may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark this Link"

EndNote Capture Reference Tool

The Capture Reference bookmarklet scans the bibliographic information presented on a web page like Google Scholar and creates a reference or set of references that you can import into a new or existing EndNote group. If no group is specified, the reference is saved to "Unfiled".

See the EndNote "Downloads" tab for full details.

NOTE: The Capture Reference tool works best when capturing

 

Once you have the Capture Tool bookmarked in your Browser

Set up Google Scholar to export records into EndNote:

  • Go to Settings in Google Scholar
  • Scroll down to Bibliography Manager and select "Show links to import citations into"
  • Select Endnote from the drop-down menu

Google Scholar Bibliography Manager Dialog box with EndNote Selected

Exporting PubMed Citations

Once you have completed your search and marked the citations you want to Export:

Step 1 - Click the Send To button 

PubMed Send to button

Step 2 - Select Citation Manager

Step 3 - Select Create File

PubMed Create File dialog box

You will see a message that your Citations were successfully saved.

 

Importing PubMed Citations into EndNote

Step 1 - Login to EndNote

Step 2 - Click the "Collect" tab in the top navigation bar, then the "Import References" option

EndNote navigation bar with Collect and Import References options circled

Step 3 - In the Import References menu, choose the file you want to upload, then scroll through the Import Options and Select "PubMed"

Step 4 - Select the destination Folder for your citations then click Import

EndNote Troubleshooting

The Citation Style I Need Isn't Available

If the citation style you need isn't showing up in EndNote, it may be because you signed up for an EndNote Web account directly from the EndNote website. An account like this will only allow you to use  "Top 21 most commonly used styles".

You will need to register for an EndNote Online account from within the Web of Science (WOS) database:

  1. Log into Web of Science (WOS)
  2. Have an WOS account? Sign in.  If not Register to use WOS - upper right corner of the screen
  3. Click the Products icon in the upper right corner of WOS
  4. Select EndNote
  5. Click the Register Button
  6. Follow the instructions to create your free EndNote account

NOTE: you may need to use a different email address from your original EndNote Web account so the 2 aren't confused

My Citation Manager Plug In doesn't work in Microsoft Word

Microsoft added it's own Citation Manager tool ("References") to MS Word. This feature needs to be turned off before another citation manager tool can be effectively  used in an MS Word document.

Microsoft Word toolbar with References tool circled

 

To turn off the References Tool:

Step 1 - Click File in the upper left corner

Step 2 - Select "Options"

Step 3 - Select "Customize Ribbon" in the Word Options menu

Step 4 - On the left side of the dialog box, uncheck the References, then click OK

MS Word Options showing Customize Ribbon and Unchecked References tool

My Citation Manager Plug In doesn't work in Microsoft Word - Option 2

If you have already turn off Microsoft's Citation Manager tool ("References") and you still can't get your plugin to work, do you have more than one plugin installed?

Citation manager plugins do not play well with each other. You can have more than one installed, but you can't have more than one running while you're using MS Word. Check to see what Citation Manager tool is in your tool bar.

 

If it's not the one you want to use turn it off by:

Step 1 - In the menu bar, select File

Step 2 - Select Options

Step 3 - In the left menu, select Add-Ins

Step 4 - At the bottom of the box, make sure "Manage" is set to "COM Add-ins", then click Go

Step 5 - Look to see what citation manager Add-ins are in MS Word. Check the box for the one you want to use and Uncheck the other citation managers, the click OK

 

You can switch back and forth between citation managers by doing this. If you have a preferred citation manager that you always use, Delete the others by by checking the box and clicking the Remove button

"Class Not Registered Error (Windows 10)

Windows 10 users may encounter the "class not registered" error when working with the Cite While You Write (CWYW) MS Word plugin. This is most likely to happen when the plugin is newly installed in MS Word.  The fix is as follows:

  1. Open MS Word

  2. Click on "EndNote" to open the CWYW toolbar. At this point the error message will occur - go ahead and close it.

  3. Choose "Preferences" from the CWYW toolbar, then "Application".

  4. Change the application to "EndNote Online" (this may be a radio button choice or a drop-down menu)

  5. Type in your BSU email address & your EndNote online password

  6. Click OK

Your copy of Word should now be correctly mapped to your EndNote account.  You may need to close Word and reopen it for the change to be active.