Contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Indexing coverage back to 1874 for some journals.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many subject areas including music. The most recent 1 to 5 years of some journals are not available through this database. Its music coverage goes back to the 1800s.
Comprehensive guide to the international literature on music and music-related subjects published from 1967 to the present including publications in over 240 languages, some articles may not be in English.
Tips and Tricks
Create a search query.
Databases often require that you use AND or OR to combine multiple terms/keywords when
executing a search.
● AND narrows your search by connecting keywords. Search results must contain all terms
connected by AND.
● OR broadens your search. It indicates that only one of the terms must appear. (Hint: This is a
good operator to use with synonyms.
● Place two or more words in quotation marks “ “ to indicate a phrase.
Search using the Advanced Search option.
The Advanced search option will often show you useful filters and limits that are already built into
the database interface such as publication date and type, language, intended audience, scholarly
journals, and more. Consider using these when you have a large result set that you need to narrow
Use “cited by links” for more recent sources.
Google Scholar records often include a “cited by'' feature that allows you to see which articles have
cited this article in their work. In databases like PsycINFO or Web of Science, this feature is called
“Cited References.” These lists contain more current research in the field and can help you:
● Assess the importance of your source to other researchers
● Indicate more recent shifts of thought or developments on your topic
● Expand your list of relevant sources
When using this technique, remember to always assess whether your original research article is
being supported or refuted in the more recent literature.
Revise your search query.
Searching is an iterative process, which means that with each search you are learning new
information you can use to improve your search strategy. Keeping track of where you looked, new
terms you discovered, and what search strategies worked or didn’t work can help you modify your
search query until your research is complete.
(Credit Danielle Worthy)
Setting Up BSU Full Text Access in Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be set up to provide access to some of Boise State's full text articles.