Welcome to your Library Guide for Music 503. In this guide you will find some familiar resources from the music subject guide as well as information, resources and tips specifically geared toward graduate level music research. Please contact me, Anders Tobiason, with any questions or for help with any aspect of your research.
the professional organization for American Music Educators. The website contains links and resources specifically curated for music education and has direct links to major music education journals as well as Standards.
"The International Society for Music Education was formed at a conference convened by UNESCO in 1953 'to stimulate music education as an integral part of general education'. This has been ISME's main concern over the past decades and continues to be our most important motivation."
"Founded in 1955, the Society for Ethnomusicology is a global, interdisciplinary network of individuals and institutions engaged in the study of music across all cultural contexts and historical periods."
"The College Music Society promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education."
Searches Grove Music Online which includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, the Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition, and the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. Provides access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Contains full text from major reference works, biographies and personal narratives from oral histories, manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Includes reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, biographical information on major composers and artists, score and lyric excerpts, plus musical and notational terms, photographs and images of people, instruments, and ensembles.