English Literature
Databases for Literature
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
International in scope, MLA International Bibliography indexes journals, books, and other materials for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.m
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to more than 1,700 journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEEBO features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Subjects include English Literature, History, Philosophy, Linguistics, Religion, Politics, and Government.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowWith ECCO, explore full-text, searchable digital versions of eighteenth-century books, pamphlets, and broadsheets. Content includes significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
- Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 100,000 pages of personal writings of women through the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The letters and diaries reveal, in each woman’s own hand, the details of the authors’ daily lives, their activities and concerns, and their attitudes towards the people and world around them.
- Seventeenth to Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Early English news media including more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from the period. Gathered by notable scholar Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Browse scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. JSTOR now includes Artstor, collections of high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences disciplines, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
- Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and eBooks with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Subject coverage includes ethnic studies, art and architecture, creative writing, education, film, theater, and performing arts, history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide-Google Scholar page to learn more about adding Find it at Boise State! library links to your Google Scholar search.