New developments and current research often appear first as conference papers and/or journals articles. You can find these in Article Indexes and Databases. You will also find product reviews, descriptions of methodology, or information on innovations in or applications of particular processes, systems and devices.
Each database has a different scope - it will cover different subjects and therefore will contain descriptions to articles in different journals.
Articles, conference papers, and technical reports for all engineering disciplines; good source for current and past research.
Compendex, GEOBASE and INSPEC are searched jointly on the Engineering Village Platform. To search only one of the databases: when on the main search screen, the databases are listed under the search box. Click the box to the left any database you do not wish to search.
GEOBASE: Articles, conference papers, reports and books in geography, geology and ecology
INSPEC: Covers electrical engineering, physics, computers and control, manufacturing; Includes articles, conference papers and some books, dissertations and reports.
Multi-disciplinary index includes article information in sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities. A key feature of this index is the cited reference search, which searches for the articles that have cited a particular author’s work, or a specific article.
If you're looking for transportation or traffic related articles, there are too great databases to try:
NU Search - Northwestern University Transportation Library Search: One of the largest transportation information centers in the world, Covers all aspects of traffic and transportation, all modalities, including: air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport and logistics. Significant collection on law enforcement, police management and traffic enforcement. Previously called TranWeb
Environmental Impact Statements: One of the most complete collections in the U.S. in the country
Transport Research International Documentation (TRID) Online: Covers all modes of transportation across disciplines. Material covered includes technical reports, magazine and journal articles, conference papers, and books. Collaboratively produced by the U.S. Transportation Research Board's (TRB) Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database
Environmental Engineering - Databases
If you're looking for articles related to Environmental Engineering, try looking here:
Environmental issues such as recycling, global change, green buildings, and water quality management. Multidisciplinary with a focus on the human impact on the environment, includes scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles
Topics such as pollution and its impact, conservation, environmental engineering, renewable energy, and waste management from scientific, consumer action and policy perspectives. Includes journal & magazine articles, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications
Geotechnical Engineering - Databases
Looking for articles on topics related to Geotechnical Engineering? Try these databases:
Articles, conference papers, reports, books, maps, and North American theses in geosciences, includes hydrology
Who Cited this Article?
Many databases will show you who cited a particular article. Depending on the database you search, these citations might be from articles, technical reports, dissertations, or other types of documents. Here are some options in broad general databases that might help.
Google Scholar: is a great place to search an article and see who cited it. Look for the "cited by" link
Why are the Number of Citations Different?
You may find that the numbers of articles that cited an original article are different in each database you search. Databases that have a "cited by" feature are retrieving the information from the content within their own database or a range of databases by that vendor, so their sources of information will differ.
Google Scholar will usually have more articles listed under their "cited by" because the database searches across the Internet
Using Google's Advanced Search
Google Scholar Advanced Search can help you structure your search around the keywords you generated for your topic, and give you ideas of how to focus your search. To get to the Advanced Search feature:
The structure of Google Scholar's Advanced Search template allows you to easily structure your search around your keywords, return articles authored by a particular person, published in a specific journal, or published between specified dates.