Creative Commons

Thank You

This presentation by Shannon M. Smith is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

All images used reside in the public domain unless otherwise noted.

Content adapted from "Using CC Licenses and CC Licensed Works" by Creative Commons. CC-BY.

Let's Talk Using CC Licenses

Collections Vs. Remixes

Collections

• A collection compiles distinctly separate content together, maintaining them as separate. Example: recipes pulled together into a book.
• A collection must contain licensing and attribution information for each item.
• You may have a separate license for the portion of the collection that was your contribution. That is the organization and arrangement of the content in the collection.

Remixes

• Remixes and adaptations combine content from different sources into uniquely new content.
• In this case you often cannot tell where content from one source ends and another begins.
• It is still critical to provide licensing and attribution for all content used in remixes and adaptations.
• Not all open licenses can be combined together in this way.

Collection Example

1. Woman wearing virtual reality headset by Sound On.
2. Amazed Businessman by Free Stock Photo.
3. Virtual Reality Becoming a Reality by BagoGames.
4. Woman and virtual reality, public domain image.

Virtual Reality Photo Collection by Shannon M. Smith is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Pause and Reflect

When might you create a collection versus a remix?

• Consider your motivations to create content.
• What learning experience might make a collection more beneficial for your needs?
• Can you think of an instance when you adapted or remixed content but chose not to re-share it openly? Why?

Remixes, Adaptations, & Derivatives...Oh My!

• The terms remix, adaptation, and derivative are used interchangeably.
• The most complicated situation is when you want to combine or adapt two or more CC licensed items into a new work.
• The original license will continue to govern the portion included in an adaptation/remix, and not all CC licenses are compatible with each other.
• Share alike licenses for example have very few licenses they can be combined with. Consider the next slide.

Adapters License Chart

Adapters License Compatibility Chart

No Derivatives

"As of version 4.0, all CC licenses, even the no derivatives licenses, allow anyone to make an adaptation of a CC licensed work. The difference between the ND licenses and the other licenses is that if an adaptation of an ND-licensed work has been created, it cannot be shared with others.This allows for example, an individual user to create adaptations of an ND-licensed work. But ND does not allow the individual to share adaptations with the public."

Thank You

This presentation by Shannon M. Smith is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

All images used reside in the public domain unless otherwise noted.

Content adapted from "Using CC Licenses and CC Licensed Works" by Creative Commons. CC-BY.