Author Rights and Open Access (OA)

The Library catalog has an option to search for open access materials through its "Open Access" filter highlighted below. The “Open Access” filter brings content under the broader open environment that includes OA articles and OER from sources like JSTOR Open Access Books; Public Library of Science (PLOS); Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) and 
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ); SciELO Journals; and many more.

Digital Commons Network: http://network.bepress.com/

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, including Boise State University's ScholarWorks page. 

Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Search broadly by discipline by hovering your mouse over the wheel:

You can also use the search box on the top-right hand of the page:

Search Millions of Research Papers

Internet Archive Scholar: "This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."

Browser plug-ins
The easiest method for finding OA publications is by using one or both of the available browser plugins. Note, however, that these plugins are not perfect. If you cannot find an open version using the plugins, continue through this guide. 

Open Access Button (OA Button). You can use the OA Button website or browser extensions to check for freely available OA versions. When an OA version is not found, OA Button can be used to contact the authors directly and request that they make a version available.

Unpaywall. This Chrome/Firefox browser extension will point you to any open access versions of paywalled articles you discover online. 

The extensions discover and links to open access copies of scholarly articles. Unpaywall is powered by a database of millions of scholarly papers, many of which have full-text Open Access versions. Unpaywall harvests content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world as well as open data from PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license info), and DataCite. They do not harvest from dubious sources like ResearchGate or Sci-Hub.

Open Access Helper - mac/iOS

"Open Access Helper for iOS and Open Access Helper for Safari (macOS) are designed to help you get easy access to these articles, with a lot of help from the awesome APIs from unpaywall.org and core.ac.uk."